Skip to content

NLCS Game 5 lineups: Giants vs. Cardinals

Oct 19, 2012, 6:25 PM EDT

source: Reuters

Here are the lineups for Game 5 of the NLCS between the Giants and Cardinals, in St. Louis:

1. Angel Pagan, CF              1. Jon Jay, CF
2. Marco Scutaro, 2B            2. Carlos Beltran, RF
3. Pablo Sandoval, 3B           3. Matt Holliday, LF
4. Buster Posey, C              4. Allen Craig, 1B
5. Hunter Pence, RF             5. Yadier Molina, C
6. Brandon Belt, 1B             6. David Freese, 3B
7. Gregor Blanco, LF            7. Daniel Descalso, 2B
8. Brandon Crawford             8. Pete Kozma, SS
9. Barry Zito, SP               9. Lance Lynn, SP

Bruce Bochy is back to using his standard lineup, which means Hector Sanchez moves to the bench after catching Tim Lincecum in Game 4. Buster Posey is back behind the plate, Brandon Belt is starting at first base, and Hunter Pence is hitting fifth after a one-game demotion to the sixth spot. Oh, and Barry Zito is on the mound with the Giants’ season on the line.

Mike Matheny held off posting his lineup until the last minute because Carlos Beltran was getting treatment on his strained left knee after sitting out Game 4 last night. Beltran got acupuncture and apparently felt good, or at least good enough, because he’s back in the lineup and Matt Carpenter is back on the bench.

  1. stlouis1baseball - Oct 19, 2012 at 7:30 PM

    Alright…let’s go team. Seal the deal right here. Game #5. Wrap it up. Go Cardinals!

    • Jeff M. - Oct 19, 2012 at 8:00 PM

      As a Dodgers fan, I approve this message.

      Course, I’m not thrilled about the Cardinals either, but they’re certainly better than the Gnats. Lesser of two evils, and all that.

  2. Francisco (FC) - Oct 19, 2012 at 8:22 PM

    I just want a good baseball game.

    • Jeff M. - Oct 19, 2012 at 8:32 PM

      I don’t! I want the Giants to lose. In a historic manner.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2557)
  2. G. Stanton (2524)
  3. H. Ramirez (2505)
  4. G. Springer (2496)
  5. B. Crawford (2314)
  1. M. Teixeira (2298)
  2. H. Pence (2222)
  3. J. Baez (2215)
  4. J. Hamilton (2171)
  5. Y. Puig (2117)