Skip to content

Fired by Dodgers, Dave Hansen lands job as Mariners’ new hitting coach

Oct 22, 2012, 4:16 PM EDT

Dave Hansen Getty Getty Images

Dave Hansen was fired as the Dodgers’ hitting coach last month, but the Mariners have hired him to fill the same job.

Hansen replaces Chris Chambliss, who last month became the ninth hitting coach fired by the Mariners since 2000. In other words Hansen is stepping into a pretty tough job, although Seattle moving in the fences at Safeco Field should help the team’s raw offensive numbers some.

Hansen became the Dodgers’ hitting coach in the middle of last season after the team fired Jeff Pentland. Pentland found a new job as a Triple-A hitting coach for the Mariners and was added to the coaching staff in September to work alongside Chambliss. There was some thought that Pentland would get the job once Chambliss was fired, but instead a team has opted for Hansen over for him for the second time in 18 months.

  1. number42is1 - Oct 22, 2012 at 4:28 PM

    “who last month became the ninth hitting coach fired by the Mariners since 2000”

    So its sort of like the Defense Against the Dark Arts position?

  2. suicidesqueeze91361 - Oct 22, 2012 at 4:39 PM

    I see.

    So I guess the Mariners made this move so they can collapse in the stretch and not make the play-offs too?

    How much is the Mariners GM being compensated for making these Einstein-esque moves?? I’m willing to do it for a 30% discount, and I’ll bet I come up with better results!!?

    • tfbuckfutter - Oct 22, 2012 at 4:48 PM

      You prefer they keep collapsing in Spring Training?

    • seattlej - Oct 22, 2012 at 4:58 PM

      Yeah, the Dodgers’ collapse was totally Dave Hansen’s fault… Colletti, Mattingly and the players surely had nothing to do with it…

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2762)
  2. C. Correa (2615)
  3. Y. Puig (2610)
  4. G. Springer (2568)
  5. B. Crawford (2488)
  1. H. Ramirez (2487)
  2. H. Pence (2393)
  3. M. Teixeira (2314)
  4. J. Hamilton (2281)
  5. J. Baez (2262)