Skip to content

Matt Cain’s RBI single gives Giants 2-0 lead over Cardinals in Game 7

Oct 22, 2012, 9:00 PM EDT

Matt Cain Reuters Reuters

The Giants pushed their lead over the Cardinals to 2-0 in the bottom of the second inning thanks to a two-out RBI single by Matt Cain. Yes, you read that correctly.

Brandon Belt grounded out to begin the inning before Gregor Blanco reached on a single to right field. Blanco moved over to second base when Allen Craig made a diving stop of a ground ball off the bat of Brandon Crawford for the second out. However, Kyle Lohse hung one and Cain took advantage by lining it right up the middle and into center field. The Giants have RBI hits from their starting pitchers in three straight games.

Cain has tossed two scoreless innings so far tonight, but he has already thrown 46 pitches. While he might not be long for this game, he’s sure making an impact.

  1. sailcat54 - Oct 22, 2012 at 9:24 PM

    Still in the 3rd, no outs, bases loaded, and the Giants are ahead 6-0. Woohoo!

  2. Francisco (FC) - Oct 22, 2012 at 9:28 PM

    Pitchers hitting and getting ribbies, how about that.

    • sailcat54 - Oct 22, 2012 at 9:34 PM

      Poor defense and lousy pitching. I hope the Giants hang in there, but it must be a discouraging moment for the Cards. Inning over, Giants up 8-0.

      • sailcat54 - Oct 22, 2012 at 9:55 PM

        Oops! That would be 7-0.

      • historiophiliac - Oct 22, 2012 at 11:06 PM

        Now you’re right. You must be psychic.

  3. greymares - Oct 22, 2012 at 9:39 PM

    there’s not a competitive game on T.V. tonight Giants killing the Cardinals, Bears beating up the Lions and Obama is tearing Romney a new butt

    • sailcat54 - Oct 22, 2012 at 9:54 PM

      No problem with any of those scenarios, as far as I’m concerned.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2550)
  2. G. Stanton (2496)
  3. H. Ramirez (2483)
  4. G. Springer (2480)
  5. B. Crawford (2295)
  1. M. Teixeira (2279)
  2. H. Pence (2205)
  3. J. Baez (2201)
  4. J. Hamilton (2158)
  5. Y. Puig (2104)