Skip to content

Mariners set Miguel Olivo, Munenori Kawasaki free

Oct 24, 2012, 6:05 PM EDT

Munenori Kawasaki

The Mariners announced Wednesday that they’ve declined catcher Miguel Olivo‘s $3 million option for 2013 and that they’ve released shortstop Munenori Kawasaki.

Olivo should have been cast out of Seattle’s plans as 2012 went along, but he was still playing about half of the time down the stretch. He ended up hitting .222/.239/.381 with 12 homers and 29 RBI in 315 at-bats.

My favorite part of Olivo’s season was the fact that he walked three times in the 18-inning game against the Orioles on Sept. 18. Those were his only walks of the entire second half. He finished with seven on the year.

The 31-year-old Kawasaki signed a minor league deal with the Mariners because he wanted to play with Ichiro Suzuki and then gained a little notoriety for his dugout dance moves. He ended up hitting .192/.257/.202 in 104 at-bats. It’d probably be for the best if he returned to Japan to continue his career, but at least we’ll have something to remember him by:

  1. paint771 - Oct 24, 2012 at 6:35 PM

    A $3 million backup catcher that hits .220?

    The Blue Jays may be losing coaches, but they are going to be RICH with backup catchers before the month is done. Rich, I say!

  2. husky2score - Oct 24, 2012 at 6:53 PM

    I remember when the Orioles played the Mariners, and whenever Kawasaki got the ball, he just seemed like he was hurrying the ball soooo much, even when it was somebody batting with no speed. Watch him he must have had like 5 Monster drinks before the game.

  3. zzalapski - Oct 24, 2012 at 8:46 PM

    Matthew’s post title made me think of the old saying about how if you love something, set it free. In this case, though, I’m guessing the Mariners really don’t want them to come back. The Mariners would move to a different address if they could, just to make sure.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2999)
  2. J. Fernandez (2436)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2369)
  4. G. Stanton (2275)
  5. D. Span (2095)
  1. Y. Puig (2011)
  2. F. Rodney (1974)
  3. M. Teixeira (1959)
  4. G. Springer (1921)
  5. H. Olivera (1898)