Skip to content

Bench coach Tim Bogar won’t be back with Red Sox

Oct 25, 2012, 6:10 PM EDT

Tim Bogar Getty Images

The Boston Globe reports that Tim Bogar, the assumed lead Bobby Valentine backstabber, won’t be back on Boston’s coaching staff next year, the Boston Globe’s Peter Abraham reports.

It’s already been reported that Torey Lovullo is set to make the move from Toronto to Boston with John Farrell and take over as bench coach.

Bogar was offered Houston’s bench coach job earlier this month, but he opted to stay with the Red Sox and take his chances that he’d remain in the plans for 2013. There’s no word yet on if he was offered another position in the organization.

Despite the Bobby V controversy, it seems unlikely that Bogar will be out of work for long. The Astros knew all about it when they offered him a gig. Bogar’s status as a managerial candidate may have taken a hit this year, but given that he’s just 46, he still has plenty of time left to redeem himself.

  1. edelmanfanclub - Oct 25, 2012 at 7:25 PM

    Not really a surprise here. I kinda wanted Valentine to resign so Bogar could manage the team in Sept, I wouldnt mind him back on the Red Sox as long as he’s not the 3rd base coach haha. I wish him luck.

    • edelmanfanclub - Oct 25, 2012 at 7:31 PM

      ** resign or get fired in August

  2. professor30 - Oct 25, 2012 at 7:40 PM

    Bogar is a class act. Well respected by the players and very knowledgeable about the game. I was hoping he would get a shot at the managers gig.

  3. proudlycanadian - Oct 25, 2012 at 8:09 PM

    I thought that Bobby V. was the chief backstabber on the team, until I realized that when Bobby stabbed, he did a full frontal.

  4. blueovalblog - Oct 26, 2012 at 7:59 AM

    Reblogged this on blueovalblog's Blog.

  5. soxfan1966 - Oct 26, 2012 at 12:26 PM

    Toronto has an opening …

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2612)
  2. G. Stanton (2458)
  3. D. Span (2419)
  4. Y. Puig (2372)
  5. J. Fernandez (2303)
  1. B. Crawford (2271)
  2. G. Springer (2208)
  3. M. Teixeira (2134)
  4. J. Hamilton (2077)
  5. H. Pence (1944)