Skip to content

Susan Slusser becomes BBWAA’s first female president

Oct 27, 2012, 8:34 PM EDT

(L to R): Jeff Idelson, Susan Slusser, Bob Elliot, Jane Forbes Clark AP

The San Francisco Chronicle’s Susan Slusser was voted in as the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s president on Saturday, making her the first woman to hold the title.

Slusser, long among the game’s best beat writers, has covered the A’s for the Chronicle for 14 years. She was the vice president of the BBWAA this year.

BBWAA officers hold one-year terms, and the vice president typically moves up the following year. That means the Minneapolis Star-Tribune’s La Velle E. Neal III, who was voted in as the VP today, will become the BBWAA’s first African-American president next year.

  1. butchhuskey - Oct 27, 2012 at 8:56 PM

    Susan is terrific at her job – she always seems to have the inside scoop. Congrats to her on a well deserved honor.

  2. Old Gator - Oct 27, 2012 at 10:20 PM

    Yikes! What the hell is that…that…woman doing in here?

    • butchhuskey - Oct 27, 2012 at 10:57 PM

      Next thing you know they’ll have the right to vote! haha

      • indaburg - Oct 28, 2012 at 1:38 PM

        Voting?! Stop that crazy talk.

      • nothanksimdriving123 - Oct 28, 2012 at 7:23 PM

        At least we know we’ll never see any in Congress, or a Presidential Cabinet, or as Governors or Mayors or anything like that. What? You’re kidding! When the hell did that happen? Astronauts too? OMG!!

  3. onbucky96 - Oct 28, 2012 at 7:40 AM

    Easy boys, its a woman. They’ve existed for years. I realize most baseball writers have never kissed a girl as they’re too busy writing/watching baseball or playing W.O.W. Good for her, I’m sure she can do the job.

  4. Chipmaker - Oct 28, 2012 at 9:52 AM

    Neal will try to codify his “pitchers don’t deserve MVP votes” philosophy into standing policy. Bleah.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (3009)
  2. G. Stanton (2711)
  3. C. Correa (2697)
  4. Y. Puig (2637)
  5. G. Springer (2592)
  1. H. Pence (2466)
  2. H. Ramirez (2341)
  3. M. Teixeira (2289)
  4. J. Hamilton (2282)
  5. J. Baez (2179)