Skip to content

Giants win Game 4 in extra innings, sweep Tigers to win World Series

Oct 29, 2012, 12:00 AM EDT

Giants Getty Getty Images

The Giants are your 2012 World Series champions.

The Giants topped the Tigers 4-3 in 10 innings tonight at Comerica Park in Detroit to finish off a four-game World Series sweep. This is the Giants’ second World Series title in the past three seasons and the seventh in franchise history.

Game 4 was a back-and-forth affair, including go-ahead two-run homers from Buster Posey and Miguel Cabrera and a game-tying solo blast from Delmon Young. The Giants ultimately took the lead in the top of the 10th inning after Marco Scutaro punched a two-out single in front of Austin Jackson in center field to score Ryan Theriot. Sergio Romo struck out the side in the bottom of the 10th to finish off the victory, freezing Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera for the final out.

The Giants are the first team to sweep the World Series since the Red Sox finished off the Rockies in four games in 2007. They are the first National League team to sweep the World Series since the Reds defeated the Athletics in 1990.

  1. baymac408 - Oct 29, 2012 at 2:15 AM

    Pitching was beauyiful!! And everybody brought their bats when we needed!! Amazing year to remember!! I love my GIANTS SINCE 1987. Born and raised!! THANK YOU GIANTS!!!!

  2. wj4122 - Oct 29, 2012 at 2:44 AM

    I can’t wait till the offseason predictions are made for division winners and the dodgers are favored over the giants even though they are defending champs. Enjoy it now giants it will be the last for the rest of the decade

    • blabidibla - Oct 29, 2012 at 12:20 PM

      I believe the Dodgers were favored this year as well.

  3. baymac408 - Oct 29, 2012 at 3:20 AM

    Wj4122 shut your hating mouth punk.. You are a sucka!! We are always underdogs and never expected! OUR PITCHING ROTATION KILLS!!! Get over it we CHAMPIONS.. And your a hating sucka punk

  4. wj4122 - Oct 29, 2012 at 3:29 AM

    You guys deserved winning it all and have played great this offseason. Even though u knew ur guy cheated and had to get a replacement before it was official. I’m not a sucker lol but I am a punk

    • SOBEIT - Oct 29, 2012 at 1:32 PM

      You have no sense of irony and therefore are hypocritical thinking the Dodgers are a clean organization. Remember Manny Ramirez…the difference is that the Dodgers welcomed him back with open arms after his suspension to be successful in the playoffs…The Giants kicked Melky to the curb. That is one huge difference between our organizations. The Giants have moved on from the PED era.

      But let’s discuss what Eric Gagne had to say about his time with the Dodgers:

      “Gagne first admitted publicly to using HGH in 2010.”
      In his book, Gagne does not the name players he says used PEDs.
      “I was intimately aware of the clubhouse in which I lived. I would say that 80 percent of the Dodgers players were consuming them,” Gagne says in the book.”

      Glass house…shattered.

  5. wj4122 - Oct 29, 2012 at 3:46 AM

    tell Brian Wilson that his beard isn’t funny anymore

  6. bradleeygalindo22 - Oct 29, 2012 at 7:29 AM

    We will see about the garbage overpaid Dodgers. Kinda funny, Matt Kemp even caught giants fever this postseason. It would be like Jeter openly rooting for the Red Sox in a World Series. But, hey, we will accept the support. San Francisco is building something special with the g-men and the 49ers. Title town 2012 baby!

  7. stlouis1baseball - Oct 29, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    Congratulations to the San Francisco Giants!
    Great job on keeping that trophy in the National League where it belongs.
    A very deserving World Series Champion!

  8. thatyankeedude - Oct 29, 2012 at 8:33 PM

    The guy I’m most happy for is the fan that got beat up, he has to be feeling pretty good right now

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2696)
  2. C. Correa (2584)
  3. Y. Puig (2574)
  4. B. Crawford (2461)
  5. G. Springer (2449)
  1. H. Pence (2353)
  2. H. Ramirez (2315)
  3. M. Teixeira (2253)
  4. J. Hamilton (2235)
  5. J. Baez (2214)