Skip to content

Pablo Sandoval named World Series MVP

Oct 29, 2012, 12:17 AM EDT

Pablo Sandoval Getty Getty Images

Pablo Sandoval had a diminished role during the Giants’ World Series run in 2010, but he was a key contributor this time around.

A no-brainer choice after the Giants finished off a four-game sweep of the Tigers tonight, Sandoval was named the World Series MVP.

Sandoval went 8-for-16 (.500) during the series, including his three-homer performance in Game 1. Babe Ruth, Reggie Jackson and Albert Pujols are the only other players to hit three home runs in a World Series game. Kung-Fu Panda was excellent throughout the postseason, batting .364 (24-for-66) with five doubles, six home runs, 13 RBI and a 1.098 OPS. He fell one shy of tying the all-time record for hits in a single postseason.

  1. bigleagues - Oct 29, 2012 at 12:25 AM

    I’m wondering if the portly Sabean will hammer Sandoval again next Spring for his ‘conditioning’.

    Not sayin’ Panda’s idea of diet and conditioning is ideal, but let’s face it . . . dude’s a freak.

    • megastaff1975 - Oct 29, 2012 at 12:44 PM

      dude’s a freak.

      REALLY!!!! more like he’s JUICED!!!! i bet hes hanging around Melky!!

  2. randygnyc - Oct 29, 2012 at 12:30 AM

    Well deserved for Pablo. His 3 home run game will be remembered for many, many years. Bravo. (ps. Don’t hang out with prince fielder this offseason. You don’t need any worse habits)

    • jimeejohnson - Oct 29, 2012 at 1:35 PM

      Classy comment from a knowledgeable fan of this great game. There’s Randy. good to have you back even though the Yankees choked more than the Tigers.

  3. sailcat54 - Oct 29, 2012 at 12:34 AM

    Tough call. Scutaro, Blanco, Zito, Voglesong, Posey, Bumgarner, and Pence could all have been named MVP. Good for Sandoval, though! He did well!

    Go Giants! Big congrats! 2012 Champions!

  4. baymac408 - Oct 29, 2012 at 2:13 AM

    Well deserved Panda!!! We love you bruh!! Lets make this a regular thing!!! 2x in 3 years that’s how we do it baby!!! Panda poped it off and everybody else pulled through. Pitching was amazing !! Thank you Pablo Sandoval!!!!

  5. wj4122 - Oct 29, 2012 at 2:37 AM

    I hope he enjoys it because he won’t do it again. I Give him props though. But he will be considered the worst player on the list of 3 hr in a ws game.

    • seeingwhatsticks - Oct 29, 2012 at 4:05 AM

      You realize he’s a career .300 switch hitter who has had his power sapped by broken hamate bones each of the last 2 years right?

    • nategearhart - Oct 29, 2012 at 10:39 AM

      Yeah, being considered the “worst” of Ruth, Jackson and Pujols is a damn shame, isn’t it?

  6. kvanhorn87 - Oct 29, 2012 at 4:24 AM

    Did this feel like the most unwatched Series in a very long time? I don’t know many people who watched any of the games ( besides myself).

  7. nomorsacbball - Oct 29, 2012 at 7:32 AM

    I’m tired of hearing ” nobody watched ” Giants fans don’t give a damn if anyone watched the world series. oh and I don’t see any dodgers on the list of 3 homers in a WS game, you hater

  8. indianbob - Oct 29, 2012 at 8:02 AM

    The Giants and their fans don’t care a bit if the fans of the other loser teams watched the Series or thought it was boring! I know I don’t care! Yay Gigantes!!!

  9. kunztown - Oct 29, 2012 at 8:48 AM

    I’m pretty certain the owners, and the people who pay these guys care which market gets to the World Series. Not having a team from the Big Market East in the World Series will always make it less desirable….

  10. Old Gator - Oct 29, 2012 at 10:50 AM

    Conratulations, Pablo. Now get out of my bamboo.

    • jimeejohnson - Oct 29, 2012 at 1:37 PM

      Spelling Nazis are onto you, Gator. You can ignore them, but like the useful pawns for the rich, they won’t go away.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2426)
  2. B. Crawford (2318)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2068)
  5. D. Wright (2013)
  1. J. Hamilton (2003)
  2. J. Fernandez (1986)
  3. D. Span (1917)
  4. H. Ramirez (1887)
  5. C. Correa (1853)