Skip to content

Mariners re-sign Oliver Perez to one-year contract

Nov 3, 2012, 10:26 PM EDT

oliver perez getty Getty Images

From’s Greg Johns comes word that the Mariners have re-signed left-hander Oliver Perez to a one-year major league deal for the 2013 season. Financial terms of the agreement aren’t yet available.

Perez reinvented himself as reliever this past season on a non-guaranteed minor league deal with the M’s, posting a 2.12 ERA across 29 2/3 innings. And now he’s pretty much a lock for an Opening Day bullpen spot next spring. With a salary that is guaranteed.

The 31-year-old southpaw owns a 4.57 career ERA. He has also played for the Padres, Pirates and Mets.


UPDATE, 10:28 PM: According to Jon Heyman of CBS Sports, the new one-year contract is worth $1.5 million and includes another $600,000 worth of performance-based incentives.

  1. natsattack - Nov 3, 2012 at 10:32 PM

    They demoted Koufax to the bullpen? Why

  2. natsattack - Nov 3, 2012 at 10:33 PM


  3. Chris K - Nov 4, 2012 at 1:47 AM

    Just as an aside, it’d be great if we started getting links to BaseballRef or Fangraphs or something when clicking on a player name. I know there’s a deal with Rotoworld but even THAT would be welcome when mentioning a player name in each article. I want to see some stats with minimal effort!

  4. sfbookreviews - Nov 4, 2012 at 3:30 AM

    I have 3 comments and can’t decide which one to go with, so here’s all 3.

    1) Is it April 1st already?

    2) Are we sure those numbers aren’t reversed? I think it should read $600K contract with $1.5M in incentives. That would make much more sense.

    3) UPDATE: Mariners also re-sign Ian Snell to four year, 20 million dollar contract.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. M. Canha (3451)
  2. D. Span (3444)
  3. J. Kelly (3361)
  4. Y. Puig (3281)
  5. N. Cruz (3268)