Skip to content

Twins sign catcher Eric Fryer to minor league deal

Nov 11, 2012, 9:03 AM EDT

eric fryer getty Getty Images

From’s Rhett Bollinger comes word that the Twins have signed catcher Eric Fryer to a minor league contract. It’s possible that the deal will carry an invitation to spring training, but the 27-year-old backstop won’t stand much of a chance of cracking the Opening Day roster with Joe Mauer and Drew Butera already locked in for the 2013 campaign.

Fryer made only five plate appearance with the Pirates this past season, netting one single. He batted .204/.257/.247 with no home runs, 10 RBI and seven total extra-base hits in 65 games at Triple-A Indianapolis.

The Twins have also agreed to a minor league contract with right-handed reliever Tim Wood.

  1. proudlycanadian - Nov 11, 2012 at 9:30 AM

    Every Triple A team could use a Crash Davis.

  2. drsteller - Nov 11, 2012 at 10:06 AM

    Ryan Doumit is the backup in Minnesota. Not Drew Butera. Drew’s a nice guy but he’s no major leaguer.

    • ptfu - Nov 11, 2012 at 10:57 AM

      At least Ryan Doumit can hit a little. If Drew Butera’s locked into the roster, the Twinkies have a problem. Dude’s replacement-level at best.

      • byjiminy - Nov 12, 2012 at 12:54 AM

        yes, yes, yes, and yes.

  3. rgledz - Nov 11, 2012 at 10:58 AM

    Way to make a splash Terry Ryan! Keep up the good work!


    • Bryz - Nov 11, 2012 at 11:31 AM

      It never fails that someone will post a comment like this on a minor league signing.

  4. noozehound - Nov 11, 2012 at 12:22 PM

    lah dee fucking dah, Terry Ryan…

    • Bryz - Nov 11, 2012 at 1:31 PM

      See my first post.

  5. Detroit Michael - Nov 12, 2012 at 6:12 AM

    How can Drew Butera, a guy with a lifetime 481 OPS in the majors, be “locked in” to a roster spot?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2545)
  2. G. Stanton (2492)
  3. G. Springer (2474)
  4. H. Ramirez (2472)
  5. B. Crawford (2281)
  1. M. Teixeira (2270)
  2. J. Baez (2194)
  3. H. Pence (2191)
  4. J. Hamilton (2151)
  5. Y. Puig (2099)