Skip to content

Giants and Jeremy Affeldt agree to three-year contract

Nov 12, 2012, 8:32 PM EDT

Jeremy Affeldt Getty Images

UPDATE: Jon Heyman of was told by sources that the Giants and Affeldt have reached agreement on a new contract. As mentioned earlier, it’s expected to be about $18 million over three years.

3:45 PM: Last week Jeremy Affeldt and the Giants were said to be close to a three-year contract and now both Buster Olney of and Bob Nightengale of USA Today report that the reliever’s deal is expected to be worth $18 million.

Affeldt just finished a three-year, $14 million deal, so he gets a nice 29 percent raise after throwing 175 innings with a 3.09 ERA during the previous contract.

Signing a setup man for three years and $6 million per season through age 36 is a pretty steep price to pay, but obviously the Giants love Affeldt and he’s consistently been one of the best left-handed relievers in baseball since 2007.

  1. pilonflats - Nov 12, 2012 at 4:00 PM

    Once this is official, it will make me happy

    • Bruce Knutson - Nov 14, 2012 at 3:00 AM

      There are rumors that the Giants are also close to inking Scutaro to a 2 year deal as well

  2. smcgaels1997 - Nov 12, 2012 at 4:00 PM

    Not that steep..cheaper than the League deal and his not injury prone..good guy worth the $$$

    • sometimesimisscandlestick - Nov 12, 2012 at 4:13 PM

      Well, not normal injuries…

  3. cameltoehoe - Nov 12, 2012 at 6:17 PM

    Maybe with the 29% raise the Affelfdt’s can afford fresh ground beef patties instead of those frozen patties he got injured from.

  4. garylanglais - Nov 12, 2012 at 9:53 PM

    Scott Downs: 3 years/$15m after 2010 season
    Sean Marshall: 3 years/$16.5m extension after 2011 season
    Jeremy Affeldt: 3 years/$18m after 2012 season

    The market has been set for elite LH relief pitchers.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3155)
  2. G. Stanton (2553)
  3. M. Teixeira (2481)
  4. H. Olivera (2402)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2383)
  1. J. Fernandez (2351)
  2. K. Medlen (2179)
  3. Y. Puig (2128)
  4. G. Perkins (2083)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2059)