Skip to content

David Price becomes first Rays pitcher to win Cy Young Award

Nov 14, 2012, 6:27 PM EDT

David Price AP

After tying for the league lead in wins and finishing first in ERA, David Price claimed his first American League Cy Young Award on Wednesday, picking up 14 of the 28 first-place votes.

Justin Verlander, last year’s Cy Young and MVP winner, finished second with 13 first-place votes and totaled 149 points to Price’s 153. Jered Weaver came in third, though he didn’t get the remaining first-place vote. That went to Rays closer Fernando Rodney, courtesy of Drew Davison of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

The four-point margin of victory was the closest in an AL Cy Young race since Mike Cuellar and Denny McLain tied for the award in 1969.

Price tied Weaver at 20 wins and ended the year with a 2.56 ERA, just ahead of Verlander at 2.64. Weaver, at 2.81, was the only other AL starter to finish with a sub-3.00 ERA.

Verlander received less run support than Price and ended up at 17 wins. Still, many will argue that he should have won the award. He led the AL in innings pitched and strikeouts. He threw 27 more innings than Price and 50 more innings than Weaver. He also was pitching in front of the worst defense of the trio and in the most favorable park for hitters. On the other hand, he did pitch in the weakest of the AL’s three divisions.

Price previously finished second in the Cy Young balloting to Felix Hernandez in 2010. The three-time All-Star is 61-31 with a 3.16 ERA since debuting with the Rays at the end of the 2008 season.

  1. tigers182 - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:29 PM

    so WAR only matters for batters?

    • hardballtalkusername - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:08 PM

      Yup, so Trout wins MVP. Glad to see Tigers fans are finally getting it.

  2. uyf1950 - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:30 PM

    That may have just cost the Rays an extra $500K via arbitration.

  3. frank433 - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:31 PM

    Mike Trout is ROBBED of another awawd. Look at all the earned runs he saved with the gold glove he was robbed of!!

    Will nobody think of the children??

  4. indaburg - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:34 PM

    Woohoooo! Yeah, Price, baby!

    • historiophiliac - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:51 PM

      Congrats! See, your day turned out great!

      • indaburg - Nov 14, 2012 at 8:22 PM

        I am happy for the big goofy kid, but the fact that his stellar pitching performances were wasted with lackluster hitting still stings a bit. The whole pitching staff’s exemplary effort, for that matter. Ah, well. Next season.

      • historiophiliac - Nov 14, 2012 at 8:34 PM

        Welcome to my World Series….

      • indaburg - Nov 14, 2012 at 8:45 PM

        At least you guys made it and it was mercifully over quickly. I watched an entire season of that bullshit. I better go assume lotus position again. Serenity now, serenity now.

    • stex52 - Nov 14, 2012 at 8:59 PM

      something to cheer, eh, Indaburg?

  5. jagsfan11 - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:36 PM

    GO RAYS!

  6. wildbob - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:37 PM

    Who’s the idiot that gave his 1st place vote to Rodney?

    • nfieldr - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:53 PM

      Drew Davison

    • myopinionisrighterthanyours - Nov 15, 2012 at 3:42 PM

      Um, you do realize Rodney put up the lowest ERA EVER in MLB history, right? Not to say he deserved it over Price or Verlander, but don’t act like it’s the craziest thing in the world.

  7. legacybroken - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:39 PM

    Even as a Tigers fan rooting for JV, I believe Price was a great choice for the Cy Young. The guy had a heck of a year.

    • Just a Fan - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:32 PM

      Justin Verlander could have easily won it. But since he won last year, I have no issue with Price getting it. Both are scary good. I have no problem with Rodney getting a vote. He deserved more. Both Rays pitchers were lights out. Jered Weaver is as good, just needed Trout to step it up a little for him. Why can’t Price or Dickey be the MVP? Seems they are deserving.

  8. El Bravo - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:42 PM

    hash tag hat tip brah

  9. prosourcetalk - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:45 PM

    Well deserved, Price is awesome

    • proudlycanadian - Nov 14, 2012 at 6:54 PM

      Price was right!

  10. cosanostra71 - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:20 PM

    well deserved by Price. I hope Weaver pitches well enough to deserve a win next year, because that would be great news for the Angels!

    • Just a Fan - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:34 PM

      He did……they were just better. Can’t complain with the way Weaver pitches. Wish his brother was as good.

  11. sabatimus - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:24 PM

    What a crock.

  12. drewsylvania - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:34 PM

    Verlander 7.6 WAR
    Price 6.4 WAR

    All you need to know.

    • Just a Fan - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:36 PM

      Those stats only apply when trying to justify Trout being good enough to hold Miggys Jockstrap!

      • churchoftheperpetuallyoutraged - Nov 14, 2012 at 8:32 PM

        Or y’all are setting up a straw man that no one is making? rWAR has Verlander with a better year and fWAR has Verlander also with a better year (6.8 to 5.1). Verlander should have won again.

        So what’s your argument now?

    • drewsylvania - Nov 15, 2012 at 11:10 AM

      I see either the anti-accurate-stats crowd or the pro-Rays crowd are out here in force.

  13. cktai - Nov 14, 2012 at 9:03 PM

    Jim Johnson got robbed! He has the highest WPA in baseball. He even beats Trout (by 0.03 wins). Johnson is so clutch it’s measurable.

    The fact that I recently bought an Orioles cap is completely unrelated to this unbiased objective post.

  14. themagicfanguy - Nov 14, 2012 at 9:03 PM

    Well done Price, you deserve it.

  15. trevorb06 - Nov 15, 2012 at 9:42 AM

    Once you factor in which divisions Price and Verlander pitch in, I’d say this was the right choice.

    • drewsylvania - Nov 15, 2012 at 11:11 AM


      Sheesh. Folks, please do some research on the newer statistics.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2666)
  2. B. Crawford (2474)
  3. Y. Puig (2371)
  4. G. Springer (2233)
  5. J. Fernandez (2068)
  1. D. Wright (2067)
  2. C. Correa (2060)
  3. J. Hamilton (2055)
  4. H. Ramirez (2029)
  5. H. Pence (1967)