Skip to content

Mike Trout won the “Heart and Hustle” award

Nov 14, 2012, 11:19 AM EST


Mike Trout won Rookie of the Year and will finish runner-up for MVP, but surely this will be his proudest accomplishment for 2012: Trout has been named the “Heart and Hustle” award winner.

Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association gives the annual award to the “player who demonstrates a passion for the game and best embodies the values, spirit and traditions of baseball.”

Each of the 30 teams had a finalist and that list amusingly included Melky Cabrera representing the Giants despite his 50-game suspension for performance-enhancing drugs.

And in accepting the award Trout put himself in position to win cliche-giver of the year as well: “I take pride in these awards. I go out there and give 110 percent every time and leave it all on the field. There’s only one thing in baseball, and I think it’s to win and just have fun.”

  1. runteddyrun - Nov 14, 2012 at 12:22 PM

    “There’s only one thing in baseball, and I think it’s to win and just have fun.” That is two things.

  2. b7p19 - Nov 14, 2012 at 12:46 PM

    A White guy won an award for heart and hussle? Naaaaa….

    • stlouis1baseball - Nov 14, 2012 at 3:39 PM


      • historiophiliac - Nov 15, 2012 at 12:04 AM

        Woodpecker, did you really just do that? lol

  3. hep3 - Nov 14, 2012 at 4:37 PM

    Yes, but will he report to camp “In the best shape of his life” after hitting the awards banquets this winter. He just looks like a guy that loves mashed potatoes.

    All kidding aside, Trout is great to watch.

  4. manchestermiracle - Nov 14, 2012 at 7:21 PM

    Why are the Giants trolling the “Heart and Hustle Award?” They certainly had a few players show both in their WS win. No more room in that tiny trophy case?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Santana (2758)
  2. E. Cabrera (2654)
  3. M. Upton (2465)
  4. A. Simmons (2393)
  5. H. Bailey (2367)