Skip to content

Cubs re-sign reliever Shawn Camp to one-year deal

Nov 19, 2012, 11:16 AM EDT

Shawn Camp AP

Shawn Camp has re-signed with the Cubs on a one-year deal worth $1.35 million in upfront money and another $200,000 in potential incentives.

Last offseason Chicago signed Camp to a minor-league contract and he ended up leading the NL in appearances while throwing 78 innings with a 3.59 ERA and 54/21 K/BB ratio, but at age 37 the journeyman reliever apparently didn’t get a ton of interest as a free agent.

Camp’s strikeout and walk rates have never been particularly impressive, but he keeps the ball in the ballpark and has posted a 3.62 ERA in 335 innings during the past five seasons.

  1. dan1111 - Nov 19, 2012 at 11:24 AM

    Do you ever have a “wow, that guy’s still around?” moment? I’m pretty sure I last heard of Camp when he played for Kansas City. But apparently he was in the same division as my Red Sox for six years!

    • kkingprior - Nov 19, 2012 at 11:31 AM

      And then you have a “wow, that guy was arguably the best, if not, most consistant reliver for the Cubs this season!” moment and flashback to how awful they were this year. Sigh.

    • proudlycanadian - Nov 19, 2012 at 11:39 AM

      Camp was a decent relief pitcher with the Jays for several years. He was never great, but always had a reasonable season. If my memory is correct, he pitched for Tampa Bay before Toronto. Theo obviously remembered him when he signed him last year.

  2. Old Gator - Nov 19, 2012 at 11:35 AM

    This is a good thing. The Cubs have re-established continuity with their previous 102 years. This is precisely the sort of thing that the Feesh repeatedly fail to do. You would think that Macondo didn’t have a baseball team before Hurricane Andrew, when all the records were tragically destroyed. But there are those among us who remember….

    • Ben Cerow - Nov 19, 2012 at 4:16 PM


Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Travis (3283)
  2. J. Reyes (2951)
  3. H. Ryu (2944)
  4. C. Dickerson (2863)
  5. D. Wright (2820)