Skip to content

Padres official: Chase Headley won’t be traded

Dec 3, 2012, 4:11 PM EDT

Chase Headley AP

That’s the report from Joel Sherman of the New York Post, so Yankees fans best set their hearts on someone else. Sherman quotes as unnamed Padres official saying, “we’re not going to move (Chase) Headley.”

Headley was being talked about as a candidate to replace the injured Alex Rodriguez at third base for the Bombers.

The 28-year-old Headley entered 2012 as a solid regular and ended it as the National League’s RBI leader. he hit .286/.376/.498 with 31 homers and 115 RBI for the Padres. The 31 homers were four more than he hit the previous three seasons combined.

As a result of the big season, Headley figures to see his $3.475 million salary jump to $8 million or more in arbitration this winter. He’s two years away from free agency. The Padres will likely explore a long-term deal with him and could revisit trading him next summer if they can’t get anything done.

  1. icanspeel - Dec 3, 2012 at 4:15 PM

    It’s probably one of the few times a team wish they offered a little extra to the Padres to get him during last years trade line since it was before he really lit things up. I really thought he was going to be traded.

    • vanmorrissey - Dec 3, 2012 at 5:17 PM

      …….not until mid-year anyway. They want to see if he’ll continue to put up numbers similar to last year and if so they’ll lock him up. If not that’s when he’ll get traded with Gyorko moving to 3rd if he starts the year at 2nd and Headley at 3rd. Just a wait and see mode. Padres luck, he gets hurt and it throws all plans into a spin.

  2. cackalackyank - Dec 3, 2012 at 4:21 PM

    Guess they wanted to save Cashman the phone call…..

  3. ezthinking - Dec 3, 2012 at 8:09 PM

    Pad’s missed their shot. It goes down from here with Headley

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2624)
  2. B. Crawford (2433)
  3. Y. Puig (2352)
  4. G. Springer (2195)
  5. D. Wright (2057)
  1. J. Fernandez (2046)
  2. J. Hamilton (2041)
  3. C. Correa (2007)
  4. H. Ramirez (1986)
  5. D. Span (1945)