Skip to content

Royals sign Xavier Nady to minor league contract

Dec 14, 2012, 10:47 AM EST

Xavier Nady Getty Images

Xavier Nady, who hit .184 in 59 games for the Nationals and Giants this year, has agreed to a minor-league contract with the Royals.

In addition to struggling in the majors Nady also hit .270 with six homers and an .872 OPS in 25 games at Triple-A, which is obviously far better production but still not all that impressive from a 33-year-old with a decade of big-league experience.

Once upon a time Nady with a productive everyday corner outfielder with 20-homer power, but he hasn’t topped a .750 OPS since 2008 and has failed to crack even a .700 OPS in three straight seasons. At best he’s a platoon guy with some value versus left-handed pitching.

  1. jkcalhoun - Dec 14, 2012 at 11:22 AM

    Ah, but the Royals are trying to sign winners. And what will this guy be getting that Jeff Francoeur doesn’t have?

  2. Paul White - Dec 14, 2012 at 11:24 AM

    It was just a matter of time before the Royals signed someone who can play right field, now that they face another season of Jeff Francoeur. But this particular move doesn’t make much sense. I would have expected them to find a left-handed compliment to give them some platooning options. Instead they signed a guy who is essentially a Francoeur clone at this point.

  3. Stiller43 - Dec 14, 2012 at 12:01 PM

    Its a shame. On mlb power pros (wii game from like 2007), he’s really solid for the buccos.

  4. sportsdrenched - Dec 14, 2012 at 12:04 PM

    Now trade Jeff Francoeur to the Mets for RA Dickey…..thanks and I’ll listen off the air.

    • jwbiii - Dec 14, 2012 at 2:35 PM

      Did you know there’s Delta Sky Club® right in CitiField? Where is your favorite Delta Sky Club®?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches