Skip to content

Former major leaguer Frank Pastore dies after four weeks in coma

Dec 17, 2012, 9:33 PM EDT

Frank Pastore

Former Reds pitcher Frank Pastore, who was injured in a car accident on Nov. 19, passed away Monday afternoon after four weeks in a coma.

The Inland Valley Daily Bulletin reported last month that Pastore was driving a motorcycle when he was struck by a car. The driver of the car had lost control, according to California Highway Patrol Sgt. Aaron Knarr, and hit Pastore’s Honda Shadow in the car pool lane. The driver of the car wasn’t hurt and was not intoxicated.

Pastore, 55, went 48-58 with a 4.29 ERA in an eight-year major league career that spanned 1979-86. He spent his first seven years with the Reds before finishing out his career as a reliever for the Twins. He had his best year in 1980, going 13-7 with a 3.27 ERA and a 110/42 K/BB ratio in 184 2/3 innings. Before the accident, he hosted a Christian radio show on KKLA in Los Angeles.

  1. pisano - Dec 17, 2012 at 10:11 PM

    Rest in peace.

  2. raysfan1 - Dec 17, 2012 at 10:13 PM

    Praying for peace for the Pastore family and comfort in their time of grief.

    I remember watching him pitch in spring training games when I was in high school.

  3. jdvalk - Dec 17, 2012 at 10:49 PM

    RIP; you led a very inspirational post-baseball life.

  4. latchbeam - Dec 18, 2012 at 2:31 AM

    God bless Pastore

  5. dirtyharry1971 - Dec 18, 2012 at 7:42 AM

    i remember owning this baseball card, very sad, rip.

    • hojo20 - Dec 18, 2012 at 1:28 PM

      I have his 1980 card.

  6. stlouis1baseball - Dec 18, 2012 at 2:45 PM

    Rest in peace Frank Pastore.

  7. mazblast - Dec 19, 2012 at 1:06 AM

    Pastore was a good but not great pitcher, and a good person. My condolences to his family.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2820)
  2. D. Span (2386)
  3. G. Stanton (2292)
  4. J. Fernandez (2285)
  5. F. Rodney (2130)
  1. G. Springer (2060)
  2. M. Teixeira (1997)
  3. Y. Puig (1939)
  4. G. Perkins (1926)
  5. C. Sabathia (1820)