Skip to content

Former Rangers owner Brad Corbett dies

Dec 26, 2012, 9:41 AM EDT

Image (1) Rangers%20Logo.jpg for post 3962

Former Texas Rangers owner Brad Corbett has died. The Long Island-born businessman who made his fortune selling PVC pip to the oil industry in Fort Worth owned the team from 1974 to 1980. He was 75.

Corbett’s tenure as Rangers’ owner was Steinbrennerian. He was the defacto GM. He signed a lot of free agents, but not many good ones, and traded for big names like Al Oliver and Bobby Bonds. He also went through a lot of managers, employing Billy Martin, Frank Lucchesi,  Eddie Stanky, Connie Ryan, Billy Hunter and Pat Corrales. Players came and went pretty darn fast in those days as well.

The team did, however, experience its most success up to that point during his stewardship, winning 94 games in 1977 and finishing above .500 four times. Ultimately, though, they were no match for the mid-to-late 70s Kansas City Royals and real success eluded the club.  Corbett sold the team in 1980.

  1. lewp - Dec 26, 2012 at 10:06 AM

    “The club took on the air of a circus. In 1977, the Rangers employed four managers in a span of eight games. In 1978, Sports Illustrated revealed Corbett consulted his son, Brad Jr., on trades.”

    “Corbett once famously pulled off a trade during a men’s room conversation with Cleveland executive Gabe Paul. The Rangers in 1978 sent outfielder Bobby Bonds and young right-hander Len Barker to the Indians for infielder Larvell “Sugar Bear” Blanks and right-hander Jim Kern.”

    I don’t miss those days at all/

  2. jwbiii - Dec 26, 2012 at 10:23 AM

    He was a big step up in class from Bob Short, though.

  3. Detroit Michael - Dec 26, 2012 at 1:40 PM

    There is some entertaining material about the 1970s Rangers in the book Lords of the Realm. Worth reading if one likes baseball history and hasn’t read it.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2605)
  2. C. Correa (2594)
  3. H. Ramirez (2567)
  4. G. Springer (2544)
  5. B. Crawford (2352)
  1. M. Teixeira (2344)
  2. H. Pence (2271)
  3. J. Baez (2257)
  4. J. Hamilton (2207)
  5. Y. Puig (2157)