Skip to content

Jason Grilli to be the Pirates closer

Dec 26, 2012, 4:05 PM EDT

This seemed obvious, but perhaps the Pirates were taking the polite road and waiting for the Joel Hanrahan deal to Boston to become official before announcing it:


Grilli struck out 90 batters and posted a 2.91 ERA in 58 and two-thirds innings as the Pirates setup man last season, so he seems ready to handle ninth inning duties. If he falters, Pirates’ new acquisition Mark Melancon — a year removed from a 2.78 ERA and 20 saves with the Astros — could theoretically step in.

  1. johngaltx - Dec 26, 2012 at 4:57 PM

    Hopefully the Red Sox will tell “Hammertime” to shave off that Billy Goat beard he sports every year.

  2. quonce - Dec 26, 2012 at 7:07 PM

    This kid struck me out in high school when I was a freshman. First time I ever saw 90. Great to see him still around.

  3. cowboysoldiertx - Dec 26, 2012 at 7:09 PM

    Hope it pans out but I have a badddddddd feeling!

  4. codyodea - Dec 26, 2012 at 7:14 PM

    This move has a huge impact on rounds 21-26 in all fantasy drafts.

  5. Minoring In Baseball - Dec 27, 2012 at 5:23 AM

    If I’m remembering right, the Tigers gave up on this kid. Now he’s closing, and they need a closer. Karma, maybe??

    • bankboy2012 - Dec 28, 2012 at 4:55 AM

      Grilli was 31 and a .500 pitcher with 4.31 ERA for Detroit when they traded him in 2008. He had zero saves to that point in his career and has added a staggering total of 5 since then. I’ll grant you his last two years have been far superior to his career numbers, but it’s hardly like they traded the second coming of Mariano Rivera. As it is he’s closer by default while they try and straighten out Melancon’s stuff. He’ll be fine, but it’s far from some karmic backhand to the Tigers for trading him away.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2493)
  2. G. Stanton (2482)
  3. Y. Puig (2464)
  4. B. Crawford (2352)
  5. H. Pence (2225)
  1. G. Springer (2193)
  2. M. Teixeira (2114)
  3. H. Ramirez (2101)
  4. J. Hamilton (2082)
  5. J. Baez (2061)