Skip to content

Dodgers sign Alfredo Amezaga to minor league contract

Jan 5, 2013, 5:55 PM EDT

Getty Amezaga

According to Ken Rosenthal of FOX Sports, the Dodgers have signed veteran utility man Alfredo Amezaga to a minor league contract. The deal includes an invite to spring training.

Amezaga, who turns 35 later this month, hasn’t appeared in the majors since 2011 as a member of the Marlins. The switch-hitter spent all of last season with the Cubs’ Triple-A affiliate, where he batted .274/.336/.372 with six home runs, 42 RBI, 12 stolen bases and a .707 OPS in 113 games.

Amezaga was previously a non-roster invitee with the Dodgers in 2010 following microfracture on his left knee, but he didn’t end up playing a regular season game with the club. With experience between both middle infield spots and center field, he could be in the mix for a super-sub role during spring training, but he’ll likely serve as organizational depth.

  1. soxfan1966 - Jan 5, 2013 at 6:27 PM

    Also today, the Dodgers traded for every other player in the Major Leagues, and signed every unsigned free agent to minor league deals that included invitations to Spring Training camp. This brings LA’s payroll to an amount larger than the U.S. GDP.

    Seriously, though, is there anyone that Los Angeles HASN’T signed or traded for yet???

  2. stercuilus65 - Jan 6, 2013 at 12:38 AM

    Jesus even when the Dodgers sign a minor league scrub some moron has to come on and btch about it.
    Get a life.

    • soxfan1966 - Jan 6, 2013 at 9:36 AM

      @sterculilus65: do you understand what a joke is? I’m not complaining about anything. Just commenting that the Dodgers are making a lot of moves — seems like they are menitoned in or involved in just about every deal being made these days.


Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2740)
  2. Y. Puig (2408)
  3. G. Stanton (2357)
  4. C. Correa (2344)
  5. G. Springer (2263)
  1. H. Pence (2162)
  2. J. Hamilton (2075)
  3. M. Teixeira (1868)
  4. H. Ramirez (1863)
  5. J. Fernandez (1845)