Skip to content

Ryan Braun will play in the World Baseball Classic

Jan 8, 2013, 11:19 AM EDT

Ryan Braun Getty Images

Ryan Braun said during a radio interview with WSSP-1250 in Milwaukee yesterday that he’ll participate in the World Baseball Classic.

Braun played for Team USA in 2009 and the Brewers left fielder has already started working out in preparation for this year’s event, which begins in early March.

Braun won the NL MVP in 2011 by hitting .332 with 33 homers and a .994 OPS in 150 games and followed that up by hitting .319 with 41 homers and a .987 OPS in 154 games last season, but finished runner-up in the voting to Buster Posey.

  1. echech88 - Jan 8, 2013 at 11:21 AM

    Awesome. So far I believe it’s just Wright, Mauer and Braun to have committed.

    If Mike Trout commits it might not even matter who else fills out the roster.

    • proudlycanadian - Jan 8, 2013 at 11:49 AM

      Who will be pitching for the US? I will obviously be cheering for Canada, but my team will have a rather weak rotation.

      • El Bravo - Jan 8, 2013 at 1:56 PM

        Roidger Clemens is pitching every single game.

  2. henryd3rd - Jan 8, 2013 at 11:50 AM

    Mr. Braun; would you please come with us into the locker room so we can get a urine sample? Yes we are going to watch and we a Fed courier waiting to drive that sample right to the lab down the street. No you can’t call Bug Selig or his daughter! No you can’t call you agent either.

    Just pee in the freakin cup damn it

    • dlindstedt2 - Jan 8, 2013 at 4:42 PM

      Time to move on bud.

    • brewcrewfan54 - Jan 8, 2013 at 6:04 PM

      You must be a Deadspin poster trying to bring one of those usually not funny long winded dialogue posts to Hardballtalk.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2746)
  2. Y. Puig (2418)
  3. G. Stanton (2362)
  4. C. Correa (2358)
  5. G. Springer (2266)
  1. H. Pence (2175)
  2. J. Hamilton (2081)
  3. M. Teixeira (1873)
  4. H. Ramirez (1868)
  5. J. Fernandez (1849)