Skip to content

Manager of the Year Bob Melvin gets extension from A’s

Jan 14, 2013, 12:46 PM EDT

Bob Melvin Getty Images

Managing the A’s to a surprising AL West title earned Bob Melvin the AL Manager of the Year award and now it’s gotten him a two-year contract extension, the team announced.

Melvin took over as A’s manager in mid-2011 after Bob Geren was fired. He went 47-52 that season, compared to Geren going 27-36, and then led the A’s to a 94-68 record last season for their first playoff appearance since 2006 and most wins since 2003.

Prior to joining the A’s he had a 156-168 (.481) record with the Mariners and a 337-340 (.498) record with the Diamondbacks, winning NL Manager of the Year with Arizona in 2007.

Melvin is now signed through 2016.

  1. moogro - Jan 14, 2013 at 3:04 PM

    Bob Melvin: “If you have good players that win you look good.”

  2. APBA Guy - Jan 14, 2013 at 6:18 PM

    Good to see Bob II getting an extension. One of the two problems the previous managers had was that they didn’t have the personality or track records to stand up to the Great and Powerful Beane in any way. Melvin can at least express a differing opinion, and sometimes even have his way (Colin Cowgill staying up last year, used as a defensive replacement for Cespedes is an example, and even though it’s small, it represented a significant departure from the A’s recent history in that it was a case of the field manager arguing for and receiving a reversal of an FO decision to send Cowgill down).

    The other problem the previous managers had that Bob II has to a lesser extent is the talent deficiency of the A’s vs the rest of the AL. That gap is much less now, though still there despite last year’s overachievement.

    Anyway, us A’s fans are generally very positive about Bob II, and we’re glad he’ll be around for the A’s going forward.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2999)
  2. M. Teixeira (2444)
  3. G. Stanton (2403)
  4. H. Olivera (2365)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2335)
  1. J. Fernandez (2183)
  2. K. Medlen (2139)
  3. G. Perkins (2044)
  4. J. Eickhoff (2043)
  5. Y. Puig (1982)