Skip to content

Giants, Jose Mijares avoid arbitration with one-year deal

Jan 18, 2013, 10:15 AM EDT

Jose Mijares Getty Images

Jose Mijares and the Giants have agreed to a one-year, $1.8 million deal, avoiding arbitration.

Last offseason the Twins oddly decided to release Mijares rather than paying him around $800,000 via arbitration and he signed with the Royals for $925,000.

He went on to have a good year in Kansas City and then San Francisco, throwing 56 innings with a 2.56 ERA, and now the Giants will keep him around for 2013 in a middle relief role. Mijares has a 3.00 ERA through 210 career innings at age 28.

  1. albertmn - Jan 18, 2013 at 10:49 AM

    No mystery to why the Twins didn’t retain him. His ERA kept going up about a run per season, to 4.59 in 2011. He was also out of shape, and had some injury issues, so it made sense for the Twins to let him go. Please don’t play the hindsight game too many fans play, “Oh, we was really good in 2012, how could they let him go?”.

    • albertmn - Jan 18, 2013 at 10:53 AM

      Oh, forgot to mention the WHIP that had climbed to 1.694 in 2011.

  2. garylanglais - Jan 18, 2013 at 10:52 AM

    If going to criticize Twins for releasing him I think Royals deserve same treatment who placed Mijares on waivers after posting 2.56 ERA, in 51 G, 38.2 IP with 8.6 K/9 and 2.85 K/BB.

    Cant forget every AL team and most NL teams who let him get all the way to Giants to claim.

  3. Aaron Gleeman - Jan 18, 2013 at 10:55 AM

    No hindsight involved. I wrote about it the day they let Mijares go in December of 2011:

  4. moogro - Jan 18, 2013 at 4:38 PM

    He was cheap and had good value for the money. The TV deals and high salaries were predictable too and league-wide management was late to react to them also. Par for the course.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2720)
  2. C. Correa (2641)
  3. H. Ramirez (2633)
  4. G. Springer (2632)
  5. B. Crawford (2424)
  1. M. Teixeira (2402)
  2. H. Pence (2348)
  3. J. Baez (2327)
  4. J. Hamilton (2257)
  5. Y. Puig (2230)