Skip to content

Northwestern University partners with the Cubs to bring college sports to Wrigley Field

Feb 5, 2013, 2:01 PM EDT

Wrigley Football 1

The last time Wrigley Field was used for football the configuration only allowed for one end zone to be used.  Maybe this new deal will address that:

Northwestern and the Chicago Cubs have entered into a partnership that will result in the university staging athletic events for many of the school’s 19 varsity programs at Wrigley Field over the next several years, the two sides announced Tuesday.

The events will include five football games, with the dates still pending while the field completes its ongoing restoration project.

Northwestern baseball begins there this year. They could play football there as soon as 2014.

  1. buggieowens - Feb 5, 2013 at 2:56 PM

    Maybe they should enter into a partnership to bring professional baseball to Wrigley (hahaha)j/k

  2. billymc75 - Feb 5, 2013 at 3:10 PM

    Arlington does it every year

  3. jdd428 - Feb 5, 2013 at 3:53 PM

    Have they devised a better plan for the football games yet? Last time, both teams had to play toward the same end zone because the other one was deemed too close to the brick wall in right field.

    • jwbiii - Feb 5, 2013 at 4:23 PM

      When the Bears played there, 1921-70, one end zone was clipped by the left field wall and the other was in the 1B visitors dugout.

      They must have had to dress in shifts. The clubhouses, especially the vistiors’, are very small.

      • hojo20 - Feb 5, 2013 at 6:55 PM

        I’m thinking perhaps Wrigley built out the box seats after the Bears left making the old Bears field too big for that configuration.

  4. holleywood9 - Feb 5, 2013 at 6:01 PM

    Yes they did address concerns on end zone restrictions. That probably should have been listed in the article

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2552)
  2. G. Stanton (2515)
  3. H. Ramirez (2496)
  4. G. Springer (2488)
  5. B. Crawford (2309)
  1. M. Teixeira (2288)
  2. H. Pence (2219)
  3. J. Baez (2208)
  4. J. Hamilton (2167)
  5. Y. Puig (2111)