Skip to content

The Marlins sign Casey Kotchman

Feb 15, 2013, 2:31 PM EDT

Casey Kotchman

The Miami Marlins just announced that they signed Casey Kotchman.  Not gonna say Casey Kotchman doesn’t streak across my radar very often, but I had no idea that he wasn’t on a team. This time next year I imagine he’ll replace Miguel Cairo as that guy I am shocked to learn is still in baseball once or twice a year.

Kotchman hit .229/.280/.333 with 12 home runs, 55 RBI and a .612 OPS in 142 games with the Indians last season. Presumably he’d back up Logan Morrison. Or cover first in the unlikely event Morrison plays some in left.

Or right if Jeff Loria trades Giancarlo Stanton for some magic beans two days after suggesting he purchase property in south Florida.

  1. thejotapee - Feb 15, 2013 at 3:07 PM


  2. Old Gator - Feb 15, 2013 at 4:19 PM

    “Presumably he’d back up Logan Morrison.”


    One hundred and ten losses.

  3. Rockie D. Bull - Feb 16, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    He still has some gas left in the tank, this could be a good/surprising move for the Blow Feesh.

    Why that idiot Luke Scott was signed/resigned by the Rays instead of Kotchman remains a great mystery; Kotchman played in 142 games last year and actually played a position compared to “Luke the Puke’s” 96 games while riding the DL and being useless as a fielder. Not to mention having Carlos “.197” Pena, Elliott “I can’t hit” Johnson, and “SeanRod” “My Glove is a sieve” Rodriguez on the team last year instead of Kotchman – another of “Maddening Joe” Madden’s “what the hell…?” moments.

    Kotchman is a local product from Seminole High School, plays consistently and has a pretty good glove, he was a way better player than Pena and Scott combined the past 2 seasons.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3077)
  2. G. Stanton (2464)
  3. M. Teixeira (2458)
  4. H. Olivera (2377)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2349)
  1. J. Fernandez (2270)
  2. K. Medlen (2162)
  3. G. Perkins (2067)
  4. Y. Puig (2062)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2051)