Skip to content

Mets manager Terry Collins confirms Zack Wheeler will start the season at Triple-A Las Vegas

Feb 16, 2013, 6:33 PM EDT

zack wheeler getty Getty Images

It’s not really a big surprise, but Mets manager Terry Collins confirmed on Saturday that top pitching prospect Zack Wheeler will open the 2013 season with the club’s Triple-A affiliate in Las Vegas.

“He needs to go to Triple-A and pitch,” Collins told reporters at Mets camp in Port St. Lucie, Florida. “He wants to be on the staff? Go be the best pitcher in Triple-A. Force us to call him up.”

Wheeler, who was acquired in 2011 from the Giants for Carlos Beltran, posted a 3.26 ERA, 1.17 WHIP and 148/59 K/BB in 149 innings last season between the Double-A and Triple-A levels. He was Baseball America‘s No. 8 prospect this winter.

The 22-year-old right-hander seems likely to make his major league debut in early 2013.

  1. thebadguyswon - Feb 16, 2013 at 6:55 PM

    Its the right move sending him down. On a separate note, I will be so glad when this clown Collins is gone.

    • dondada10 - Feb 16, 2013 at 7:32 PM

      I’m torn on Collins. The Mets have won around the amount of games they were originally projected to during the last two seasons. That would indicate that Collins is getting the production you’d expect from his guy.

      On the flip side, the Mets have gotten off to great starts in the last two years and then have horrible second halves. You could argue that Collins has been unable to keep a team focused for an entire season.

      Maybe a little of both.

  2. mrznyc - Feb 16, 2013 at 7:30 PM

    Not near as glad as when the Wilpons are gone

  3. paperlions - Feb 16, 2013 at 7:39 PM

    Collins could at least be honest and just admit that he’ll start the season in AAA for service time reasons….because that is the entire basis for the decision.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2412)
  2. B. Crawford (2314)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2066)
  5. D. Wright (2011)
  1. J. Hamilton (1999)
  2. J. Fernandez (1981)
  3. D. Span (1917)
  4. H. Ramirez (1885)
  5. C. Correa (1852)