Skip to content

Mike Pelfrey ahead of schedule in return from Tommy John surgery

Feb 18, 2013, 2:50 PM EDT

pelfrey getty Getty Images

Mike Pelfrey is just 10 months removed from undergoing Tommy John elbow surgery, but he’s throwing without limitations at Twins camp and told Rhett Bollinger of that he expects to be ready for Opening Day:

I’m going to be ready. I guess it’s hard for some people to believe maybe. But I feel great.

Pelfrey has apparently gotten Dr. James Andrews’ blessing to speed up the typical recovery timetable, although obviously he still has some hurdles to clear between now and April.

Pelfrey went under the knife in May of last year, ending a streak of four consecutive seasons in which he started at least 30 games and threw at least 180 innings for the Mets. He signed a one-year, $4 million deal with the Twins, who desperately need rotation help after ranking dead last among AL teams in starter ERA.

  1. thebadguyswon - Feb 18, 2013 at 3:06 PM

    Ahead of schedule to continue to suck.

    • byjiminy - Feb 18, 2013 at 6:11 PM

      No, all that sucking was due to a bad elbow! Which is now fixed!

      And Joe Maur is going to hit more than 20 home runs again!

      And Morneau is going to be an MVP again too!

      Twins fans have to hope for something.

      • byjiminy - Feb 18, 2013 at 6:13 PM

        (p.s. Twins fans do know how to spell Mauer, it was just a typo)

      • thebadguyswon - Feb 18, 2013 at 6:58 PM

        He’s a good guy for sure. But his lack of a wipeout secondary pitch really hurts him. If he had a great curveball, he’d be awesome.

  2. uuddlrlrbastart - Feb 18, 2013 at 6:09 PM

    His palm-licking is probably in mid-season form.

  3. drubeatz - Feb 19, 2013 at 6:12 AM

    I guarantee he has a stellar year being away from New York. Good luck Big Pelf!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2460)
  2. B. Crawford (2327)
  3. Y. Puig (2295)
  4. G. Springer (2080)
  5. D. Wright (2017)
  1. J. Hamilton (2009)
  2. J. Fernandez (1991)
  3. D. Span (1920)
  4. H. Ramirez (1899)
  5. C. Correa (1864)