Skip to content

Indians CEO Paul Dolan: 2012 season was “the worst”

Mar 9, 2013, 9:41 PM EDT

Scott Radinsky, Zach McAllister, Carlos Santana AP

The Plain Dealer’s Terry Pluto spoke to Indians CEO Paul Dolan, touching on many of the issues that have plagued the franchise since its last winning season in 2007. Of note, Dolan called his team’s 2012 season “the worst” in his family’s 14 years with the organization. Dolan also admits that, despite increased ticket sales as a result of the Michael Bourn and Nick Swisher signings, “we will lose money” in 2013.

More, via Pluto:

But he views it as a “long-term investment” in the franchise, something that had to be done.

“It’s self-evident that we should be a very exciting team with personality,” he said. “We certainly have challenges. How we deal with them will determine if we are playing meaningful baseball in September or not.

“But we are unequivocally a better team.”

Though the Indians are playing in a division that includes the reigning American League champion Detroit Tigers, the AL Central is seen as a weak division. If the Indians’ lackluster starting rotation can prove a lot of naysayers wrong, they could enjoy significantly more success than they saw in seasons prior, something which would justify Dolan’s refusal to put his team through a complete rebuilding phase.

  1. dondada10 - Mar 9, 2013 at 10:14 PM

    Bill, you’ve been a great addition to HBT. As soon as your shift starts, you start pumping out articles.

  2. ytownjoe - Mar 9, 2013 at 10:28 PM

    Tribe tickets are overpriced. Incomes in NE Ohio can’t support these kind of entertainment expenditures.

  3. bmoreballers - Mar 10, 2013 at 12:10 AM

    Dont forget mark reynolds. They still have no pitching though

  4. bigtrav425 - Mar 10, 2013 at 12:38 AM

    we are a better team and we are going to help the wind turbines to with all of our K’s we are going ot have between Reynolds,Stubbs,Swisher and Santana if he cant get his shit straight…..i love that they actually made moves,altho we did severely over pay for Swisher…we wil continue to suck tho as lo ng as they continue to blow balls when it comes to drafting

    • bigtrav425 - Mar 10, 2013 at 11:12 AM

      wow….i apologize for all the typing errors! i guess i still had the stink eye from drinking last night while typing lol…..

  5. jwbiii - Mar 10, 2013 at 1:24 AM

    “we will lose money” in 2013.

    Right. Oh, look, up there, there goes a pig!

    • paperlions - Mar 10, 2013 at 10:49 AM

      By “lose money”, what he means is “still make a profit, but less of one than they would have made if they hadn’t spent any money on players”.

      • deadeyedesign23 - Mar 10, 2013 at 5:38 PM

        I love that people know not to buy that losing money crap from the owners in baseball. The Rays do this all the time complaining about their payroll. Nevermind that they are certainly the knc a profit each year, they also ignore the appreciation of the team as an asset. For example the Rays were bought for around 250 million and are valued at over 500 million now, less than a decade later. 100% return on investment on a 9 figure purchase is pretty incredible.

  6. patpatriot7 - Mar 10, 2013 at 7:09 AM

    As a Red Sox fan, I’ll be interested in seeing what kind of a manager Terry Francona really is as the season plays out in Cleveland. How does he handle a team that doesn’t have the talent that brought him two World Series during his tenure as manager in Boston? It should be an entertaining year for the Indians and their supporters. Red Sox fans will be watching with interest.

  7. janessa31888 - Mar 10, 2013 at 7:21 AM

    This fan wishes to thank you, Mr. Dolan, for opening up your wallet and actually spending money. I’m not complaining, that’s for sure. I’m saving the doom and gloom for the Browns.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2573)
  2. D. Span (2391)
  3. G. Stanton (2373)
  4. Y. Puig (2314)
  5. J. Fernandez (2271)
  1. B. Crawford (2195)
  2. G. Springer (2132)
  3. M. Teixeira (2017)
  4. J. Hamilton (1902)
  5. M. Sano (1861)