Skip to content

Mariners send Erasmo Ramirez and Jeremy Bonderman to minors

Mar 27, 2013, 3:18 PM EDT

Erasmo Ramirez AP

Erasmo Ramirez threw 59 innings with a 3.28 ERA and 48/12 K/BB ratio for the Mariners as a 22-year-old rookie last season, but that wasn’t enough to get him a spot in the Opening Day rotation.

Seattle optioned Ramirez to Triple-A and also reassigned reclamation project Jeremy Bonderman to minor-league camp, which means the Mariners are filling out the rotation with Blake Beavan and Brandon Maurer.

Jon Garland was also in the mix for a rotation spot, but the Mariners released him earlier this week and he quickly signed with the Rockies.

  1. tuberippin - Mar 27, 2013 at 4:24 PM

    “…which means the Mariners are filling out the rotation with Blake Beavan and Brandon Maurer.”

    So…sticking to mediocrity then. Got it.

  2. mmason0071 - Mar 27, 2013 at 11:33 PM

    Mediocrity is a big step up for the Mariner’s.

    Anyway, they didn’t have much choice. Garland put up nice numbers, but did it throwing soft junk to minor leagers, and Ramirez has had a sore elbow and didn’t have a chance to get his innings stretched out enough to be a starter. Maurer actually has a chance to be pretty good, and maybe Ramirez will be in shape to come back soon if Beavan continues his batting practice style of pitching. Bonderman is a real longshot. I don’t remember him being very good even before he got hurt.

  3. seattlenative57 - Mar 28, 2013 at 2:41 AM

    Ramirez is only at AAA to get stretched out and address discomfort in his pitching arm. If his discomfort is normal ST soreness, and the team training staff believes it is, he’ll make the 30 mile commute on I-5 and relieve Beavan if necessary. Pitching depth is not an issue with the Mariners. Any early problems with the rotation will be addressed immediately. And Ramirez should be available if needed.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (3017)
  2. G. Stanton (2723)
  3. C. Correa (2698)
  4. Y. Puig (2640)
  5. G. Springer (2595)
  1. H. Pence (2469)
  2. H. Ramirez (2342)
  3. M. Teixeira (2296)
  4. J. Hamilton (2287)
  5. J. Baez (2183)