Skip to content

Jose Arredondo outrighted to Triple-A Louisville

Mar 31, 2013, 4:15 PM EDT

jose arredondo getty Getty Images

Reds righty Jose Arredondo posted a 2.95 ERA in 61 innings of relief last season. But he won’t have a spot in Cincinnati’s Opening Day bullpen this year.

According to John Fay of the Cincinnati Enquirer, the Reds sent Arredondo outright to Triple-A Louisville, where he will pitch in middle relief until he’s needed again at the major league level. It’s a bit surprising that he drew no interest on waivers considering he’s only making a $1.2 million salary this summer.

The Reds also made a host of other moves this afternoon in anticipation of their season-opening game Monday against the Angels. Logan Ondrusek was optioned to Double-A Pensacola, Jason Donald was designated for assignment and Cesar Izturis officially had his contract purchased.

  1. contraryguy - Mar 31, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    Casualty of being an RHP on a roster with way too many of them. Reds are keeping Manny Parra, who has some pretty bad numbers on his record, but is the 3rd lefty with Marshall and Chappy. Bet he doesn’t stay down too long.

    • natslady - Mar 31, 2013 at 6:07 PM

      Yep. Same for the Nats. If he were a lefty…

  2. ckowens28 - Mar 31, 2013 at 5:48 PM

    Vetoing MLB for moving a 50 year NL franchise to the handicap league.

    • tuberippin - Mar 31, 2013 at 7:46 PM

      Are you sure you understand what “vetoing” is?

  3. jonrox - Mar 31, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    Let’s see. Arredondo is better against lefties than Manny Parra. He’s also better against righties than Manny Parra. So that makes no sense.

    Izturis has never been good and is on the wrong side of 30, but he did better in 60 at bats in Spring Training than Donald, who has a slightly better track record and is entering his prime at 28. Again, doesn’t really make sense.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2775)
  2. B. Crawford (2667)
  3. Y. Puig (2451)
  4. G. Springer (2369)
  5. C. Correa (2278)
  1. H. Ramirez (2256)
  2. H. Pence (2142)
  3. J. Fernandez (2132)
  4. J. Hamilton (2123)
  5. D. Wright (2115)