Skip to content

Dontrelle Willis joins Vladimir Guerrero on Long Island Ducks

Apr 5, 2013, 1:20 PM EDT

Washington Nationals v Baltimore Orioles Getty Images

Dontrelle Willis and Vladimir Guerrero are going to be teammates.

Jerry Crasnick of reports that Willlis, who was released by the Cubs at the end of spring training, has signed with the independent league Long Island Ducks, who also announced a deal with Vladimir Guerrero this morning.

Hard to say who has a better chance of getting back to the majors at this point. Guerrero is 38 years old, didn’t play in the majors last season, and is pretty much limited to designated hitter duties by now, which as Jim Thome can tell you is an awfully tough market. On the other hand Willis is just 31, but hasn’t been effective in the majors since 2006. Seriously, 2006.

I guess the correct answer is probably “neither” but at least the Atlantic League will be a little more interesting to watch for a while.

  1. mattintoledo - Apr 5, 2013 at 1:32 PM

    Ducks have inquired about signing the year 2005 next.

  2. jarathen - Apr 5, 2013 at 1:36 PM

    At least Scott Kazmir knows where his security blanket lies.

  3. mrfloydpink - Apr 5, 2013 at 1:45 PM

    Now all they need is a DeLorean and 1.21 gigawatts and they can be a great team.

  4. jlovenotjlo - Apr 5, 2013 at 2:56 PM

    The real winner here is the home clubhouse manager for the Long Island Ducks. That tip money is going to be about 50x more than expected.

    • brooksob53 - Apr 6, 2013 at 12:59 AM

      that’s funny because Willis and a few other Tigers were at my resort In 2010 and every time the D-Train ordered a $8 Henny and coke he would pay with a hundred and say keep it.

      • jlovenotjlo - Apr 9, 2013 at 12:05 AM

        For sure. As an Indy league clubhouse Mgr myself I envy that guy

  5. badintent - Apr 5, 2013 at 11:59 PM

    If it quakes like a duck………..

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2543)
  2. D. Span (2380)
  3. G. Stanton (2339)
  4. Y. Puig (2286)
  5. J. Fernandez (2250)
  1. B. Crawford (2166)
  2. G. Springer (2097)
  3. M. Teixeira (1941)
  4. M. Sano (1842)
  5. H. Pence (1793)