Skip to content

Stephen Strasburg and Danny Espinosa are not impressed by the Braves

Apr 13, 2013, 8:05 PM EDT

Atlanta Braves v Washington Nationals Getty Images

The Braves are 10-1 behind the National League’s fifth-best OPS and best ERA. And they just took the first two games against the defending NL East champion Nationals. Nats starter Stephen Strasburg and second baseman Danny Espinosa are not impressed, though. Via Chase Hughes of CSN Washington:

“They’re good, I don’t think they’re better than us,” Danny Espinosa said. “They’re a good ballclub, they have talent. They’re hot right now, they only lost one game, but they’re hot. It all evens out.”

And Strasburg:

“Honestly, I think our lineup’s better,” he said. “They’re hot right now. It’s early and it’s not about how many wins you necessarily finish up with in April, it’s how many you have at the end of the year.”

  1. cthomas645 - Apr 14, 2013 at 4:12 PM


    9-0 Thrashing….Impressed Yet? No?

    How about 6-0 vs Wash. in past 6 games head to head? No?

    If not…ignorance rules the day.

  2. downhillrider - Apr 14, 2013 at 5:38 PM

    with all the expectations media and local fans have for the nationals its probably best to say very little and just play ball.

  3. macjacmccoy - Apr 14, 2013 at 8:05 PM

    Strasburg and Espinosa then pointed out to left field, center field, right field, the dug out, the scoreboard, and then walked the interviewer to the locker room and said “Do they have these?” while pointing out 1 of the 50+ “2012 NL East Champion” Banners they have plastered all over Nationals Park. Jayson Werth who was in full view of Strasburg and Espinosa, was seen with a look of disgust and embarrassment on his face reminiscent of the look he wore after the last out of the 2012 NL Divisional Series.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2572)
  2. D. Span (2391)
  3. G. Stanton (2370)
  4. Y. Puig (2313)
  5. J. Fernandez (2268)
  1. B. Crawford (2194)
  2. G. Springer (2129)
  3. M. Teixeira (2009)
  4. J. Hamilton (1896)
  5. M. Sano (1859)