Skip to content

Brewers finally end ridiculous scoring drought

Apr 14, 2013, 10:35 PM EDT

Milwaukee Brewers v St. Louis Cardinals Getty Images

Ryan Braun‘s two-run home run in the eighth inning of today’s series finale in St. Louis sparked a late-game comeback and ended a team record 32-inning scoreless inning streak. The home run brought the score to 3-2. In the ninth, Yuniesky Betancourt‘s RBI double tied the game, and Jonathan Lucroy‘s solo home run in the tenth gave the Brewers the 4-3 victory.

The Cardinals had won the first two games of the series 2-0 and 8-0. Prior to that, the Cubs held the Brewers scoreless from the third through the ninth innings on Tuesday, leading into Wednesday’s postponed game.

On ending the drought, Braun said, “This was like a sigh of relief for everybody. We haven’t been playing good baseball in any aspect of the game. It was nice to finally get a win.”

The 3-8 Brewers now return home for a six-game homestand against the Giants and Cubs.

  1. 13arod - Apr 14, 2013 at 10:53 PM

    they are not going to be contenders this season the marlins are going to have a better record

    • brewcrewfan54 - Apr 14, 2013 at 11:03 PM

      The first part sure, the second part is just stupid.

  2. aceshigh11 - Apr 14, 2013 at 11:01 PM

    32 innings?? Wow.

  3. tfbuckfutter - Apr 14, 2013 at 11:16 PM

    “Ryan Braun‘s two-run home run* in the eighth inning ”

    Went ahead and fixed that for you.

  4. onbucky96 - Apr 15, 2013 at 12:03 AM

    Great. Everything is fixed. No more worries then. Or not. Hart out til late May. A-Ram is out til early May. Braun should go on the DL with his sore neck. Oh yeah, the bulpen makes Detriot’s seem good. Can the Crew do September call ups now, we suck.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2762)
  2. C. Correa (2615)
  3. Y. Puig (2610)
  4. G. Springer (2568)
  5. B. Crawford (2488)
  1. H. Ramirez (2487)
  2. H. Pence (2393)
  3. M. Teixeira (2314)
  4. J. Hamilton (2281)
  5. J. Baez (2262)