Skip to content

Marlins designate John Maine for assignment

Apr 19, 2013, 1:18 PM EDT

John Maine

John Maine secured a spot in the Marlins’ bullpen after not pitching in the majors at all in 2011 and 2012, but his comeback lasted all of four appearances.

Miami has designated Maine for assignment after he coughed up 10 runs in 7.1 innings, allowing 20 of the 40 batters he faced to reach base.

Maine is 32 years old now and hasn’t been healthy and effective in the same season since 2008, so this could be the end of the line. Right-hander Tom Koehler takes his spot in the Marlins’ bullpen.

  1. Old Gator - Apr 19, 2013 at 1:24 PM

    Yeah, it’s too bad. he pitched well in the spring, had one effective outing in relief, and then melted down like the Wicked Witch of the North in after opening a door under a bucket trick. In interviews, he always struck me as a pleasant guy who was grateful for the chance at redemption, so I wish him luck looking ahead. But fortunately, the minors are stocked with underripe weltscmertzen whom the Feesh can rush to the majors and ruin during this abortive Cheeldren’s Crusade of a season.

    • albertmn - Apr 19, 2013 at 1:44 PM

      Would have to be a witch from West or East. North and South were good witches.

      • Old Gator - Apr 19, 2013 at 2:06 PM

        Yeah, but the north has weenter.

  2. thebadguyswon - Apr 19, 2013 at 1:35 PM

    Habitual liar.

  3. number42is1 - Apr 19, 2013 at 1:39 PM

    How bad do you have to be to be DAFA’d by the Marlins?????

    • cardsfanandi - Apr 19, 2013 at 1:50 PM

      About as bad as you have to be to be released by the Astros.

      • Old Gator - Apr 19, 2013 at 2:35 PM

        If it were just a case of being bad, most of the team would have been DFA’d by now.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2802)
  2. C. Correa (2561)
  3. Y. Puig (2503)
  4. G. Stanton (2458)
  5. G. Springer (2387)
  1. H. Pence (2308)
  2. J. Hamilton (2180)
  3. M. Teixeira (1977)
  4. H. Ramirez (1948)
  5. J. Fernandez (1920)