Skip to content

Angels place Alberto Callaspo on disabled list with right calf tightness

Apr 20, 2013, 11:50 AM EDT

Alberto Callapso Getty Getty Images

Prior to last night’s game, the Angels placed third baseman Alberto Callapso on the 15-day disabled list with right calf tightness. Callaspo suffered the injury last Thursday against the Athletics and originally expected to only miss a few days, but he hasn’t made enough progress to return to the lineup. Reliever Michael Kohn was called up from Triple-A Salt Lake to take his place on the roster.

The Angels are also missing Erick Aybar due to a bruised left heel, so they are currently going with Brendan Harris as their primary shortstop and Luis Jimenez at third base. The hope is that both Callaspo and Aybar will be ready to return when they are first eligible later this month.

Callaspo is hitting .273 (9-for-33) with one home run, one double and three RBI in nine games this season. The 30-year-old batted .252/.331/.361 with 10 home runs, 53 RBI and a .692 OPS in 138 games in 2012.

  1. jarathen - Apr 20, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    Part of that DL assignment seems to be the performance of Jiminez, who has played superb defense while also hitting .474 over his first 21 at-bats. If he’s hitting this hot, another week on the DL for Callaspo shouldn’t be a big deal.

    I’m just crossing my fingers that when he comes down he’s a .290+ guy with better gap power than Callaspo, who is very patient but has little power of any kind.

  2. dirtyharry1971 - Apr 20, 2013 at 2:50 PM

    How about those 7-10 bluejays? ,228 tean battubg average, a 4.90 team ERA!!! What a team you put together AA!!! Gotta love it!!

    • asimonetti88 - Apr 20, 2013 at 3:55 PM

      No one cares. Go Angels

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2818)
  2. C. Correa (2614)
  3. Y. Puig (2526)
  4. G. Stanton (2492)
  5. G. Springer (2429)
  1. H. Pence (2351)
  2. J. Hamilton (2198)
  3. M. Teixeira (2003)
  4. H. Ramirez (1974)
  5. J. Fernandez (1950)