Skip to content

Mets demote Collin Cowgill to minors, add Andrew Brown

May 3, 2013, 2:48 PM EDT

Collin Cowgill AP AP

Collin Cowgill was the Mets’ starting center fielder on Opening Day, but he quickly took on a lesser role and today they demoted him back to Triple-A.

In his place the Mets called up Andrew Brown, a 28-year-old journeyman who played 46 games for the Rockies last season. Brown is a corner outfielder, which means the Mets will be leaning on Jordany Valdespin and Juan Lagares in center field now that Cowgill is out of the picture.

Brown is somewhat intriguing in that he’s hit .305 with 46 homers and a .940 OPS in 260 games at Triple-A, although he’s played in extremely hitter-friendly environments and doesn’t control the strike zone very well.

Also: Insert your own joke about how the Mets didn’t need more Cowgill/cowbell, etc. after he hit just .157 in 19 games.

  1. digbysellers - May 3, 2013 at 2:55 PM

    So does that mean we can make jokes about how the Met’s don’t need more barely mediocre players?

  2. insidefastball - May 3, 2013 at 3:00 PM

    It takes an outfield that bad to actually make Marlon Byrd a regular again.

  3. yousuxxors - May 3, 2013 at 3:06 PM

    is den deeker still hurt?

    • conjecture101 - May 3, 2013 at 3:22 PM

      no but he still cant hit

    • dondada10 - May 3, 2013 at 4:49 PM

      Yeah he’s out till June. Kirk Nieuwenhuis is probably ahead of MDD, anyhow.

  4. rhmurphy - May 3, 2013 at 3:15 PM

    J.P. Ricciardi is being promoted to replace Bruce Dickinson, it seems.

  5. dluxxx - May 3, 2013 at 3:48 PM

    I wanna be a cowboy. And you can be my Cowgill.

  6. beefytrout - May 3, 2013 at 5:55 PM

    does he still have his radio show?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2573)
  2. D. Span (2391)
  3. G. Stanton (2373)
  4. Y. Puig (2314)
  5. J. Fernandez (2271)
  1. B. Crawford (2195)
  2. G. Springer (2132)
  3. M. Teixeira (2017)
  4. J. Hamilton (1902)
  5. M. Sano (1861)