Skip to content

Starling Marte forgot how to use his glove

May 4, 2013, 6:05 PM EDT

starling marte getty Getty Images

Pirates outfielder Starling Marte throws with his right hand, but if you tuned in for the top of the fourth inning this afternoon as the Pirates battled the Nationals, you never would have known it. Leading off the inning, Nationals third baseman Ryan Zimmerman laced a line drive down the left field line. It took an unexpected carom off the wall in the corner and Marte had to chase the ball as it rolled towards left-center.

In the chaos, it was easy to miss, but MASN broadcaster F.P. Santangelo questioned if Marte’s glove was on the wrong hand. Replays showed that Marte was carrying his glove in his right hand — his throwing hand.

.gif evidence:

(Hat tip to @CrashburnAlley on the .gif. That guy is cool.)

It should be noted that Marte is otherwise having a great season. He hit his fourth homer on the year this afternoon off of Stephen Strasburg and entered the afternoon with a .328/.391/.491 line.

  1. tuberippin - May 4, 2013 at 6:07 PM

    How do I glove here

  2. flamethrower101 - May 4, 2013 at 6:10 PM

    Meanwhile Freddy Garcia, who started the season in Triple-A, is no hitting the Angels thru 6 IP for the O’s. Yeah, you can’t write this stuff.

  3. jimmymarlinsfan - May 4, 2013 at 6:21 PM

    This play and Barmes’ error killed Jeff’s chances of getting the W for the bucs. Oh well. Get em next time lil cuz

  4. Stiller43 - May 4, 2013 at 6:26 PM

    Love marte, but…wtf?

  5. sabatimus - May 4, 2013 at 6:41 PM

    Was he not ready for the pitch or something? If so that’s inexcusable.

  6. historiophiliac - May 4, 2013 at 6:59 PM

    Meh. That CrashburnAlley guy’s okay. Not super gritty.

  7. hittfamily - May 4, 2013 at 7:23 PM

    Is this illegal? I know it is illegal for a catcher to use his mask to stop a ball. It is illegal for a player to use his hat. He wasn’t wearing the glove. He was holding it. I’d suspect that is a rules violation that would result in an extra base if he was caught.

    • blacksables - May 5, 2013 at 4:44 AM

      No, it’s not illegal, as a simple read of the rule book would show you.

      It’s illegal to throw the glove at a ball and have the glove hit the ball. It is an automatic three-base penalty if that happens.

      Having the glove on the wrong hand, or throwing the glove at the ball, is not against the rules.

      http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/foreword.jsp

      Here’s the link to the rule book. Now anyone who posts about the rules doesn’t have an excuse for not knowing them.

  8. uuddlrlrbastart - May 4, 2013 at 7:27 PM

    Marte intentionally took his glove off to try to stop the ball from getting by him on his right, Fox showed a replay of it.

    It’s illegal to use any other piece of equipment to touch a ball or to throw your glove at a ball, I imagine it’s not illegal, specifically to do what Marte did. Though if it is, the result is a three-base error which wouldn’t have changed the play, in this case, anyway.

  9. dirtyharry1971 - May 4, 2013 at 7:52 PM

    you want too see some bad fielding? Just tune into any bluejays game, they are butchers in the field!!

  10. drone501 - May 5, 2013 at 12:06 AM

    he will become a all star very shortly

  11. bobhpine - May 5, 2013 at 10:02 AM

    Haha. Yikes. I couldn’t care less though. Marte is an absolute stud. He’s like a faster Vlad Guerrero.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Jackie Robinson Day is bittersweet
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. T. Wood (6621)
  2. J. Kubel (5877)
  3. I. Nova (5011)
  4. S. Kazmir (4684)
  5. K. Uehara (3954)
  1. M. Moore (3864)
  2. Z. Britton (3546)
  3. J. Johnson (3480)
  4. T. Walker (3296)
  5. J. Chavez (3159)