Skip to content

Andrew McCutchen scratched from Pirates’ starting lineup

May 19, 2013, 1:10 PM EDT

mccutchen getty Getty Images

Tom Singer of reports that the Pirates have scratched center fielder Andrew McCutchen from their starting lineup for Sunday’s series finale against the Astros because of soreness in his right knee.

Starling Marte will slide over to center, Travis Snider will play left field and Garrett Jones will get the start in right. Gaby Sanchez is at first base.

The Pirates have not addressed the severity of McCutchen’s knee soreness, but he was in the lineup initially so that would suggest that the decision to hold him out was more precautionary than anything.

McCutchen, 26, is batting .281/.348/.469 with six homers, nine steals and 23 RBI in 42 games.

  1. redguy12588 - May 19, 2013 at 1:12 PM

    My heart stopped when I read this. Cutch has been an ironman ever since he’s come up.

  2. steelers88 - May 19, 2013 at 1:25 PM

    I hate to say this but Cutch is kinda due for a DL stint. He hasn’t been injured since his got to the big leagues.

  3. kac360 - May 19, 2013 at 1:43 PM

    It’s the Astros and day off tomorrow, classic spot for day off…

  4. Stiller43 - May 19, 2013 at 2:31 PM

    Cutch started slow, but that average has been creaping up as of late. Almost amazing theyre where they are with him not being that great. Marte’s been awesome though.

  5. e5tolife - May 19, 2013 at 2:51 PM

    We definitely cutch healthy if we want to have a good season for once. I’d rather have him out for a game in may against the Astros than see him end up on the DL because we kept running him out there. Enjoy the day off big guy!

  6. RoyHobbs39 - May 20, 2013 at 10:12 AM

    I like that uni shown in the picture. Curious…how often do they wear those?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3001)
  2. J. Fernandez (2438)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2371)
  4. G. Stanton (2278)
  5. D. Span (2098)
  1. Y. Puig (2014)
  2. F. Rodney (1981)
  3. M. Teixeira (1959)
  4. G. Springer (1922)
  5. H. Olivera (1901)