Skip to content

Indians closer Chris Perez dealing with shoulder pain

May 26, 2013, 7:10 PM EDT

chris perez gray getty Getty Images

Indians closer Chris Perez left today’s game against the Red Sox due to shoulder pain. The right-hander recorded only two outs but was on the hook for the four runs the Red Sox scored in the bottom half of the ninth inning for the walk-off 6-5 victory. Perez allowed two hits (a David Ortiz double and a Stephen Drew single) and walked three.

Joe Smith came on in relief of Perez but promptly allowed a walk-off two-run double to Jacoby Ellsbury. Despite the poor result, Smith is likely the club’s answer for an interim closer. In another time, it would have been Vinnie Pestano, but he has not had a good 2013 season thanks in part to a stark decline in velocity.

  1. barkleyblows - May 26, 2013 at 7:35 PM

    I think it’s time for the Indians to dump Perez.

    • djeg07 - May 26, 2013 at 7:52 PM

      i said it last year, its funny how the team was crap last year as his head was not in it, this year he has something else causing the team to crap.. maybe matt capps will come up an save the day!

  2. contraryguy - May 26, 2013 at 10:59 PM

    Good day for him not to be on Twitter; shoulder problem or not, Tribe fans aren’t happy with his 7 ER in the last 3 outings. Smith, the ‘next option’ at closer, has 11 career blown saves to one successful close; yikes.

    • dan1111 - May 27, 2013 at 4:20 AM

      The ratio of saves to blown saves is meaningless unless someone is working full-time as a closer. A setup man pitching in, say, the seventh inning will get a “blown save” if he loses the lead–but he obviously never really had a chance to get a save in that situation, because if he protects the lead, the closer will just come in later and get the save.

  3. hansob - May 27, 2013 at 12:39 AM

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2732)
  2. C. Correa (2601)
  3. Y. Puig (2591)
  4. G. Springer (2518)
  5. B. Crawford (2476)
  1. H. Ramirez (2408)
  2. H. Pence (2367)
  3. M. Teixeira (2284)
  4. J. Hamilton (2255)
  5. J. Baez (2240)