Skip to content

Mets rally late against the Braves to snap losing streak

May 26, 2013, 11:25 PM EDT

Ike Davis AP

On ESPN Sunday Night Baseball, the Braves wasted a strong effort by starter Julio Teheran and a seventh-inning, go-ahead two-run home run by Dan Uggla to fall to the Mets 4-2. The Braves ended their eight-game winning streak and in so doing, also ended the Mets’ five-game losing streak. The two teams, still, are heading in opposite directions in the NL East standings. The Braves remain 4.5 games ahead of the Nationals, 6.5 ahead of the Phillies, and 11 ahead of the Mets.

Mets starter Shaun Marcum had struggled through his first six starts of the season after returning from a neck injury in late April. He brought a 6.59 ERA into tonight’s outing, but stymied the Braves for the most part over his seven innings of work, yielding just the two runs on four hits and no walks while striking out 12. Teheran, Marcum’s counterpart, allowed one run on five hits and three walks while striking out five in 6.2 innings.

The Mets went ahead in the bottom of the eighth against Braves reliever Cory Gearrin thanks to an RBI single to left by John Buck which tied the game, and a two-run, tie-breaking single to right field by Ike Davis. Closer Bobby Parnell made short work of the Braves in the top of the ninth to nail down the victory.

  1. Walk - May 26, 2013 at 11:37 PM

    The game was won by the mets manager. I did not realize how good he is. Knowing the braves only had one left handed reliever he looked at his lineup and forced freddi to use avilan early freeing duda to face a right handed pitcher. Well played mr Collins.

    • jjschiller - May 27, 2013 at 2:07 AM

      As a matter of fact, no, the game wasn’t won by Collins. It was lost by Fredi Gonzalez. Fredi knew he had only one lefty, so he double – switched him in to the game, so he wouldn’t have to burn him for one out. Except that, after double – switching him in to the game, he sent another pitcher in to pitch the next inning.

      And this perplexing move was made more perplexing, as the player he double – switched in entered for purely defensive purposes: Ramiro Pena, an all glove, nothing middle infield type to replace the stone – gloved third baseman.

      His spot came up second in the next half inning, and he had a catcher on 1b. So instead of having the flexibility to send a power hitter up with a man on (he had Brian McCann and Evan Gattis on the bench) or his best bunter, Jordan Schafer, he had already married himself to Ramiro Pena. Who promptly putzed up a bunt into a fielder’s choice.

      So, to recap, he double – switched a bad hitter in to the game, and pulled his pitcher ANYWAY, burning his lone lefty AND reducing his own offensive flexibility, and had the guy GIVE AWAY AN OUT, and then lost the game with Brian McCann, Evan Gattis and Craig Kimbrel all unused.

      You don’t out-manage that kind of performance. You just stay out of the way, and maybe send a thank you card the next day.

      • natslady - May 27, 2013 at 6:22 AM

        Thanks for explaining that. The Mets announcers were puzzled by the double-switch, but they didn’t explain the ramifications. Much appreciated.

      • natslady - May 27, 2013 at 6:24 AM

        Oh, sorry, I tarnished the Mets announcers. It was the ESPN announcers…

  2. acgonzales - May 27, 2013 at 2:02 AM

    Atlanta desperately needs bullpen arms. Losing Venters and O’Flarehty to Tommy John surgery and Walden on the DL is crappy. I bet they’ll move Medlen back to reliever when Beachy returns in June. Hopefully Wren will look around and trade for an arm or two so they don’t lose ground on the division lead.

  3. brewcrewfan54 - May 27, 2013 at 2:09 AM

    How many times did Ike Davis strike out though, that’s what I wanna know.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (3023)
  2. G. Stanton (2727)
  3. C. Correa (2700)
  4. Y. Puig (2643)
  5. G. Springer (2599)
  1. H. Pence (2471)
  2. H. Ramirez (2345)
  3. M. Teixeira (2297)
  4. J. Hamilton (2290)
  5. J. Baez (2185)