Skip to content

Mariners call up shortstop prospect Nick Franklin, demote Dustin Ackley to minors

May 27, 2013, 1:33 PM EDT

Nick Franklin AP

Seattle shortstops are just barely out-hitting National League pitchers this season and the Mariners have finally decided to do something about it. Ryan Divish of the Tacoma News Tribune reports that they’re calling up Triple-A shortstop Nick Franklin.

Franklin ranked as a top 100 prospect by both Baseball America and coming into the season and has been fantastic at Triple-A, hitting .324 with a .440 on-base percentage and more walks (30) than strikeouts (20) in 39 games.

He’s actually played more second base than shortstop in Tacoma, which suggests the dropoff defensively compared to slick-fielding Brendan Ryan would be pretty huge, but Ryan has hit just .198 in 181 games since the beginning of last season. It’s also possible that Franklin will play second base because …

To make room for Franklin on the roster Divish says the Mariners are demoting former No. 2 overall pick and one-time stud prospect Dustin Ackley to Triple-A. Ackley had a promising rookie season in 2011, but has hit just .221 with a .599 OPS in 198 games since then while serving as Seattle’s regular second baseman.

  1. Detroit Michael - May 27, 2013 at 4:57 PM

    This post is confusing. By swapping Franklin and Ackley, aren’t the Mariners attempting to do something about their punchless 2B problem, not their punchless SS problem? If the Mariners have announced that Franklin will play SS and Truinfel will play 2B, then report that. If not then, Franklin is playing 2B and this transaction has nothing to do with their SS situation.

  2. seattlenative57 - May 28, 2013 at 5:11 AM

    Franklin is being brought up to play 2B. Carlos Triunfel may play some backup SS, but Ryan remains the everyday SS. BTW, Ryan is the hottest hitter on the squad with multiple hits in 7 of his last 10 games.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2752)
  2. H. Ramirez (2653)
  3. G. Springer (2652)
  4. C. Correa (2648)
  5. B. Crawford (2456)
  1. M. Teixeira (2417)
  2. H. Pence (2376)
  3. J. Baez (2340)
  4. J. Hamilton (2269)
  5. Y. Puig (2251)