Skip to content

More wrist problems send Mark Teixeira back to disabled list

Jun 18, 2013, 2:49 PM EDT

Mark Teixeira Reuters

General manager Brian Cashman hinted pretty strongly yesterday that Mark Teixeira was headed back to the disabled list and sure enough the Yankees are making the move, shutting down the first baseman again with more wrist problems.

Teixeira managed to play just 15 games between DL stints, hitting .151 with a .609 OPS after missing the first two months of the season with an injury sustained during the World Baseball Classic.

Cashman indicated yesterday that season-ending surgery remains an option for Teixeira, but obviously the Yankees are hoping some more time off does the trick. In the meantime Lyle Overbay will resume starting at first base after recently logging some action in the outfield.

  1. deathmonkey41 - Jun 18, 2013 at 2:55 PM

    They expect a 30% decrease in his strike outs while he’s on the DL.

    • bigharold - Jun 18, 2013 at 4:32 PM

      With a bigger decrease in HRs from 1B too.

  2. nbjays - Jun 18, 2013 at 3:32 PM


  3. kopy - Jun 18, 2013 at 3:43 PM

    Bad news for M-Teix.

  4. JB (the original) - Jun 18, 2013 at 3:44 PM

    Wait…Cashman chewed K-Long a new one, even though it turns out he’s right?

    • deathmonkey41 - Jun 18, 2013 at 3:50 PM

      I think Cashman chewed him out because he said it to the media and not to the organization.

  5. pisano - Jun 18, 2013 at 5:57 PM

    I wish they could pay Tex and Arod off and send them on their way, but that’s not going to happen. These two are living proof that free agents are a big gamble, you roll the dice and hope you don’t crap out.

  6. randygnyc - Jun 18, 2013 at 6:53 PM

    Jb- kl said he knew tex was hurting all along but never told anyone. Could’ve rested him earlier.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2832)
  2. C. Correa (2641)
  3. Y. Puig (2553)
  4. G. Stanton (2515)
  5. G. Springer (2476)
  1. H. Pence (2375)
  2. J. Hamilton (2221)
  3. H. Ramirez (2079)
  4. M. Teixeira (2032)
  5. J. Baez (1973)