Skip to content

Dodgers manager Don Mattingly nabs Giants for batting out of order

Jul 6, 2013, 7:50 PM EDT

Dodgers manager Don Mattingly caught the Giants batting out of order in the bottom of the first inning this evening. Ken Rosenthal tweeted the details:

The run was taken off the board, in case it wasn’t clear.

Retrosheet has a great list of times teams have batted out of order in the past. It happens less often than you’d expect. Or at least less often than this writer, who can’t keep the days of the week aligned, would have expected.

  1. tribefever - Jul 6, 2013 at 8:09 PM

    I would think it should never happen with the number of coaches they have, so this is more often than I’d expect.

    • nothanksimdriving123 - Jul 7, 2013 at 12:56 AM

      Similarly, you might also think that in the NHL, with all the coaches behind every bench, no one would ever send out too many players, but there were THREE too many men penalties in one game in the Stanley Cup Finals. “Let’s see, that’s 1, 2, 3, 3, 4… I better get out there.”

      • badintent - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:49 AM

        Hell,Everyone knows hockey players can’t count past 5.That’s why they are hockey players. Football players can count to 11. Wonderlic weeds out the hockey players. Can’t use Wonderlic for NHL. 100% fail rate.

  2. ilovekneegrows - Jul 6, 2013 at 8:15 PM

    Panda must have still been at the buffet…

  3. bigdicktater - Jul 6, 2013 at 9:12 PM

    Indicative of the way the Giants have gone the last month or so. Don’t seem to have their heads in the game. Very disappointing.

  4. scoutsaysweitersisabust - Jul 6, 2013 at 9:23 PM

    It’s not like most stadiums don’t have a batting order on a gigantic screen or anything…

    • somekat - Jul 6, 2013 at 9:25 PM

      Exactly. Forget that there is a manager, a bench coach, a hitting coach etc etc standing right there, the list is on a HUGE screen in the outfield. Here’s a clue, when you are walking to the plate, and the big face with stats next to it is someone else, you might want to double check

      • badintent - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:50 AM

        Great ! Funny.

      • garlicfriesandbaseball - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:53 AM

        The only ones that had the correct batting order were the coaches and umpires. Everyone else, including the “big screen” had it listed wrong. It was even posted wrong in the dugout before the game and on the television in big bold letters on the TV screen.

    • aceshigh11 - Jul 6, 2013 at 9:50 PM

      Well yeah…are we now hailing Mattingly as a tactical genius for noticing something that’s ON DISPLAY IN THE STADIUM?

      • dirtyharry1971 - Jul 7, 2013 at 2:01 AM

        typical dumb boston fan comment if I ever saw one, amazing how little redsuk fans know about the game that they whine about so much

      • aceshigh11 - Jul 7, 2013 at 11:57 AM

        You should try looking at the standings before you talk shit, you stupid bastard.

      • forsch31 - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:56 PM

        If you watch the highlight video of the incident, Posey is clearly on the display in the stadium. Which is why the crowd had no idea what was going on….

        See the video here: http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=28669329&c_id=mlb (the video includes Ken Rosenthal reading the actual rule)

        So, basically, good on Mattingly for knowing an obscure corner of the rulebook to his advantage.

    • garlicfriesandbaseball - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:50 AM

      Posey was in the order that was posted on Fox Sports right before the game, posted in the clubhouse and posted online. Seems maybe the Giants coach didn’t have his smarts in order.

      On the other hand, it’s debatable whether Mattingly had a clue what was going on. He said his bench coach called it to his attention so he (Mattingly) approached the umpire. His intent, he said, was to let it ride out. If Posey struck out or anything else that wouldn’t have advanced the runner, they would have let it go, until the next time he was up to bat and decide then, again, what to do. Problem is he only had one chance at it. If he hadn’t protested it the first time, it would have been over. Posey would have assumed that position in the batting order and the game would have gone on.

      • elgalloboricua21 - Jul 7, 2013 at 5:46 PM

        Not that Mattingly knew the obscure rule. It’s just that it happen so rarely at all/ At least in the MLB. Hey. there’s an app for that

  5. enllo16 - Jul 6, 2013 at 9:55 PM

    Posey was listed as batting third everywhere (Scoreboard, dugout, etc.), except in the official line-up given to the umpires and Dodgers.

  6. acdc84 - Jul 6, 2013 at 10:25 PM

    The Giants ended up winning so I suppose it can be laughed off but WOW, how does this happen in professional baseball?? And it’s one thing if this happened in the 8th inning after a double-switch or two, but in the 1st???

    • garlicfriesandbaseball - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:56 AM

      If it hadn’t been protested in the 1st, Posey would have assumed that position in the batting order – there could not be any further protests. MLB Rule 6.07(d)(2)

      • larrymahnken - Jul 7, 2013 at 8:36 AM

        No, Posey would not have assumed that position in the batting order. The batting order does not change.

        If, while Posey was at the plate, Bochy had realized that he had written the wrong order on the lineup card, and sent Sandoval up to finish the PA, then Sandoval would have assumed the current ball-strike count, and the game would continue as normal.

        After Posey’s double, had Mattingly not immediately appealed, and a pitch had been thrown, then Posey’s PA would have been legitimized. However, the proper batter up next is *not* Sandoval, but the next batter in the batting order given to the umpire — Pence. Sandoval is simply skipped over.

        Had Mattingly not noticed Posey batting out of order, and Sandoval had followed it with an RBI single, and then Pence took the first pitch of the next PA, Bochy could have pulled Pence back and sent up the proper batter… Buster Posey. And there would be nothing Mattingly could do about it.

        In summary, the batting order never changes. The proper batter is always the person who follows the last batter in the lineup given to the umpire.

      • seeinred87 - Jul 7, 2013 at 10:24 AM

        Unless (as you alluded to) the proper batter is on base, in which case the proper batter becomes the man after him in the lineup.

  7. RickyB - Jul 6, 2013 at 10:28 PM

    He shouldn’t feel too bad. A Harvard player (yes, Harvard) batted out of order this year, too. But the player’s misstep was worse than Posey because he ended one inning by grounding out to second, then led off the next. Opposing coach didn’t call them on it because the guy made an out and was near the bottom of the order. The result was simply to add an extra AB for a worse hitter than the top of the lineup.

  8. dirtyharry1971 - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:25 AM

    im shocked the jays don’t get called on this, I mean can you say “Train Wreck?” You bet you can!

    • abaird2012 - Jul 7, 2013 at 10:00 AM

      No, it’s one of the few mistakes they haven’t made this year …

  9. Anoesis - Jul 7, 2013 at 2:27 AM

    Why would Mattingly have to bring it to the umpire’s attention if the ump had the same lineup? Is this rule only enforced if the opposition catches it? Just curious, since garlicfriesandbaseball mentioned that it wouldn’t have mattered if it hadn’t been caught immediately. Good ol’ baseball: It’s only illegal if you get caught, whether a rule about play or steroids.

    • larrytsg - Jul 7, 2013 at 7:11 AM

      It’s the same as a missed base by a runner. Umpire can notice it, but cannot make a call until someone protests it. I umpire youth league baseball, and I am far from a rules genius, but a missed base is something I mentally note, and wait for someone to protest. If the next play happens, and nobody tried to do anything, the play stands as it appeared, and cannot be changed.

      As for batting out of order, it seems from what was written that it was a problem with the official scorecard given to the umpires and the opposing manager.

  10. cubb1 - Jul 7, 2013 at 6:21 AM

    Donny finally caught someone else doing something stupid.

  11. yahmule - Jul 7, 2013 at 1:35 PM

    In the military they would say Don Mattingly doesn’t know if he’s shot, fucked, powderburnt or snakebit.

  12. stlouis1baseball - Jul 9, 2013 at 11:33 AM

    Less often that you would expect? I would expect it to NEVER happen.
    In all of my years playing baseball and softball I have never been on a team that did so.
    And in the early years of my softball days it was all beer leagues. And even drunk dudes got it right.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Managers get easier path to Cooperstown
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. H. Street (3484)
  2. T. Tulowitzki (3174)
  3. C. Headley (2808)
  4. H. Ramirez (2697)
  5. Y. Puig (2689)
  1. R. Howard (2581)
  2. B. Belt (2484)
  3. C. Lee (2483)
  4. M. Trout (2253)
  5. A. Rios (2165)