Skip to content

Jurickson Profar making first career start in the outfield tonight

Jul 6, 2013, 5:30 PM EDT

Jurickson Profar Getty Getty Images

Rangers manager Ron Washington first floated the possibility last month, but it’s finally happening.

Drew Davison of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram brings word that Jurickson Profar will make his first career start in left field in tonight’s game against the Astros. The 20-year-old has never played the outfield in pro ball, but the Rangers have had him work with outfield coach Gary Pettis over the past couple of weeks. While it’s a little surprising that they didn’t have him get any reps in the minors first, they are ready to embark on the experiment.

Profar is batting .259/.325/.380 with three home runs and nine RBI in 132 plate appearances at the major league level this season. It has been a challenge to find him playing time since Ian Kinsler returned from the disabled list, so the Rangers are hopeful that adding the outfield to his resume will help justify keeping him with the big club. The team still views him as a middle infielder in the long-term.

  1. dondada10 - Jul 6, 2013 at 6:07 PM

    Kinsler and Beltre are both signed through 2017 with an option for 2018. Andrus is signed through 2022 with an option for 2023.

    The Rangers are better off keeping Profar in AAA and keep his value high as a middle-infielder.

  2. joerymi - Jul 6, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    They are killing his value. Call up the Marlins, see what else it will take for Stanton.

    Even if his bat is for real, you already know Stanton’s is for real, and you seem to already be happy with your infield.

    Stanton in that ballpark…oh boy.

  3. valarmorghuliss - Jul 7, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    Never seen an organization attempt to drive down a top prospect like the Rangers have with Profar. Just amazing to watch them screw this up all year long.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3001)
  2. J. Fernandez (2438)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2371)
  4. G. Stanton (2278)
  5. D. Span (2098)
  1. Y. Puig (2014)
  2. F. Rodney (1981)
  3. M. Teixeira (1959)
  4. G. Springer (1922)
  5. H. Olivera (1901)