Skip to content

Matt Moore replaces injured Yu Darvish on All-Star team

Jul 11, 2013, 4:16 PM EDT

Matt Moore Getty Images

Yu Darvish going on the disabled list means he won’t be able to participate in the All-Star game and MLB announced that Rays left-hander Matt Moore has been chosen to replace him on the American League pitching staff.

Moore finished up his first half this afternoon with 7.1 innings of three-run ball against the Twins, striking out 10 and allowing just three hits while picking up his 13th victory of the season. He goes into the break at 13-3 with a 3.44 ERA and 108 strikeouts in 107 innings and the one-time consensus top pitching prospect in baseball makes his first All-Star team at age 24.

And according to manager Joe Maddon the Rays waited to tell Moore until after the game.

  1. Jorge Lancerio - Jul 11, 2013 at 4:19 PM

    Tampa Bay never seems to make much noise. Their players just go to work, get it done, and stay out of the spotlight. Good to see small market clubs making a splash. Shame 3B is so top-heavy. Longoria and Beltre were deserving of spots.

    • paperlions - Jul 11, 2013 at 6:01 PM

      …and Josh Donaldson and Kyle Seager. 3B is STACKED in the AL.

  2. churchoftheperpetuallyoutraged - Jul 11, 2013 at 4:38 PM

    Pitcher A – 18 G – 2.77 ERA, 113.2IP, 35 ER, 22 BB, 79 K, 147 ERA+, 3.59 K/BB
    Pitcher B – 18 G – 3.42 ERA, 100 IP, 38 ER, 53 BB, 98 K, 113 ERA+, 1.85 K/BB

    Pitcher B just got called to the ASG, Pitcher A is the best pitcher on the most expensive team in the AL. Where’s the love for the Hirok?

    • clemente2 - Jul 11, 2013 at 5:03 PM

      Going on for years now….very underrated.

  3. bronco58lb - Jul 11, 2013 at 6:35 PM

    I like it when the skipper picks a starting pitcher to replace a starting pitcher. They do the heavy lifting and they deserve the bulk of the All-Star spots given to hurlers.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2475)
  2. D. Span (2317)
  3. G. Stanton (2248)
  4. Y. Puig (2209)
  5. J. Fernandez (2163)
  1. G. Springer (1981)
  2. B. Crawford (1958)
  3. M. Sano (1795)
  4. M. Teixeira (1790)
  5. J. Hamilton (1714)