Skip to content

Jedd Gyorko and Yonder Alonso activated from DL, in starting lineup

Jul 12, 2013, 7:05 PM EDT

Jedd Gyorko AP

The Padres gave their fans some good news today, activating second baseman Jedd Gyorko and first baseman Yonder Alonso from the disabled list. Both are in tonight’s starting lineup against the Giants.

Gyorko had been on the disabled list since June 10 with a strained right groin. He had safely hit in 13 of 14 games leading up to his injury and was starting to get mentioned in NL Rookie of the Year conversations. He returns with an .802 OPS.

Alonso had been sidelined since June 1 due to a fractured right hand after getting hit with an Aaron Loup fastball the night prior. He was having some modest success at the plate, and he returns with a .751 OPS.

In related Padres news:

The Padres have been in a tailspin as of late, losing 12 of their last 13 games, including a 10-game losing streak from June 29 to July 8. Despite being 11 games under .500 at 41-52, they are still just 7.5 games behind the first-place Diamondbacks in the NL West.

  1. ptfu - Jul 12, 2013 at 8:38 PM

    Welcome back Alonso and the Jerk. High hopes for both to continue developing.

    Tough break for Blanks. The big guy can’t seem to stay healthy. Too bad they can’t Frankenstein the healthy parts from Quentin and Blanks together and create one monstrous, healthy outfielder. As it is, those two are like an injury platoon: one healthy, one on the DL. Hurt one recovers, healthy one gets dinged up.

    Might be the end of the line for Clayton Richard, as he was ruled out for the season earlier today. He was terrible this year and might not be offered arb. If not–happy trails, pardner. You ate a lot of necessary innings for the team over the years. Glad the shoulder’s structurally sound and hope you land on your feet, wherever that may be.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2545)
  2. G. Stanton (2492)
  3. G. Springer (2474)
  4. H. Ramirez (2473)
  5. B. Crawford (2282)
  1. M. Teixeira (2274)
  2. J. Baez (2195)
  3. H. Pence (2194)
  4. J. Hamilton (2153)
  5. Y. Puig (2099)