Skip to content

Dale Sveum guarantees Matt Garza won’t be traded before tonight’s start

Jul 22, 2013, 10:15 AM EDT

Matt Garza Getty Getty Images

Based on various reports last week Matt Garza was supposed to be traded by now, but he remains with the Cubs and manager Dale Sveum guaranteed that the right-hander will make his scheduled start tonight against the Diamondbacks. Well, sort of.

“I’d say 100 percent he’s going to be pitching,” Sveum told Patrick Mooney of, although he also added: “If we get a phone call and something changes, that’s the way it is.”

So, basically, Garza will start for the Cubs tonight unless he’s traded, in which he case he won’t start for the Cubs tonight. Glad that’s all cleared up.

  1. unclemosesgreen - Jul 22, 2013 at 10:19 AM

    I’m 99% sure that these assigned percentages aren’t 100% accurate.

  2. darthicarus - Jul 22, 2013 at 10:20 AM

    He’ll get traded during the game so everyone can see the awkward mid-game team group hug thing in the dugout.

  3. southpaw2k - Jul 22, 2013 at 10:33 AM

    I kinda hope he’s traded in mid-game to the Diamondbacks, so that way he’d leave the game after finishing an inning, change uniforms, and then come right back out in the next half of an inning for the other team.

  4. 18thstreet - Jul 22, 2013 at 10:44 AM

    Turns out professional athletes are so good with math.

    And some wonder why they prefer RBI over wOBA or wins over VORP.

    • koufaxmitzvah - Jul 22, 2013 at 11:28 AM

      VORP sounds alien to me.

  5. coryfor3 - Jul 22, 2013 at 10:48 AM

    Knowing the Cubs, he starts tonight and leaves the game with elbow pain.

    • @Cereal_22 - Jul 22, 2013 at 4:38 PM

      Theo’s nightmare

  6. darthicarus - Jul 22, 2013 at 4:52 PM

    “According to reports” Dale Sveum is now 100% wrong in his original statement.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2769)
  2. Y. Puig (2441)
  3. C. Correa (2427)
  4. G. Stanton (2382)
  5. G. Springer (2293)
  1. H. Pence (2217)
  2. J. Hamilton (2109)
  3. M. Teixeira (1897)
  4. H. Ramirez (1895)
  5. J. Fernandez (1865)