Skip to content

Giants manager Bruce Bochy gets 1,500th career win

Jul 24, 2013, 11:19 AM EDT

Bruce Bochy Getty Images

Last night’s Giants victory was the 1,500th of manager Bruce Bochy’s career, making him the 21st manager in baseball history to reach that milestone.

Of those 21 managers three are active (Bochy, Jim Leyland, Dusty Baker) and 12 are in the Hall of Fame, with four others (Bobby Cox, Joe Torre, Tony La Russa, Lou Piniella) likely to join them in Cooperstown eventually.

Bochy is 1,500-1,498 for his career, which is the fourth-lowest winning percentage of the 21 managers with 1,500-plus wins ahead of only Connie Mack, Bucky Harris, and Gene Mauch, all of whom were below .500. However, since Bochy went from the Padres to the Giants he has a .512 winning percentage and two World Series titles in seven seasons.

  1. bgrillz - Jul 24, 2013 at 11:32 AM

    He will get many more wins, and those World Series rings. Especially that first one, where he made a lot of great managerial moves, ie. benching Zito, benching Sandoval, and the management of the bullpen. That should get him into the Hall Of Fame when his career is over.

  2. asimonetti88 - Jul 24, 2013 at 11:37 AM

    Likely a Hall of Fame manager. Hard to leave someone out who has won 2 World Series rings at the helm.

    • penale52 - Jul 24, 2013 at 3:36 PM

      Tell that to Ralph Houk

  3. Francisco (FC) - Jul 24, 2013 at 12:50 PM

    If pitcher wins are an irrelevant stat manager wins are even more so. Whatever longevity these guys have acquired to allow them to accumulate those wins probably has little to do with actual skills at winning games and more to do with skilfully handling MLB rosters in both good times and bad times.

  4. grumpyoleman - Jul 24, 2013 at 1:06 PM

    Because a handful of people say wins, batting average, and RBI’s are irrelevant doesn’t make it so. “Actual skill” and handling rosters is all part of the job. If you don’t have both you probably aren’t going to be around enough to accumulate a lot of wins.

    • Francisco (FC) - Jul 24, 2013 at 3:51 PM

      I doubt it, otherwise why do we have managers that have more than 1500 wins with sub .500 records: their longevity has little do with delivering winning seasons year after year.

      My point being that when guys like Gene Mauch were hired time after time, their overall win-loss record as manager was probably the very last thing considered on his resume.

      • grumpyoleman - Jul 25, 2013 at 9:48 AM

        Actually with Mauch his win loss record probably mattered because he coached an expansion team for several years. If you look at the list of managers with sub .500 records you can understand why some of them fall into that category. Small market teams are usually at a competitive disadvantage and lose stars or up and coming players due to free agency or the threat thereof. You still need some talent to be a great coach and things like injuries, drugs (Mets), and having a young or old team are going to effect your wins/losses also. There are lots of reasons why average managers, according to their records, stay around.

      • Francisco (FC) - Jul 25, 2013 at 10:05 AM

        You just illustrated why the win-loss record matters little, as you look at the body of work of some of the managers there may have been any number of reasons for winning and losing seasons and they’re not related to game winning skills but managing a roster. It makes the W-L record less relevant not more.

  5. misterj167 - Jul 24, 2013 at 3:51 PM

    He’s a class act and I hope the Hall welcomes him when his time comes to retire.

  6. grumpyoleman - Jul 25, 2013 at 1:34 PM

    Actually I showed why good managers are kept around even though they lose a lot of games. If they didn’t have them the teams would be even worse.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2860)
  2. D. Span (2434)
  3. J. Fernandez (2339)
  4. G. Stanton (2337)
  5. G. Springer (2192)
  1. F. Rodney (2151)
  2. Y. Puig (2097)
  3. M. Teixeira (2050)
  4. G. Perkins (1980)
  5. H. Olivera (1858)