Skip to content

Astros scratch Erik Bedard from scheduled Wednesday start

Jul 31, 2013, 2:15 PM EDT

Erik Bedard Reuters

4:13 p.m. EDT update: According to Julia Morales of CSN Houston, Bedard simply needed an extra day or two between starts. No trade.


The Astros announced that Erik Bedard has been scratched from his schedule start Wednesday night, replaced by fellow left-hander Brett Oberholtzer.

No injury was given as the reason, suggesting that Bedard has either been traded or that something is close. He won’t bring the same kind of return that the team was hoping to get for Bud Norris, but he can be a fringe five- and six-inning starter for a contender. Bedard is 3-8 with a 4.28 ERA and a 95/52 K/BB ratio in 103 innings this year. He’s allowed just four earned runs over 16 1/3 innings in his last three outings.

  1. proudlycanadian - Jul 31, 2013 at 2:19 PM

    WOW! It has been a long time since Bedard was in demand.

  2. mfrizzle - Jul 31, 2013 at 2:21 PM

    At least he won’t have to pull himself out of a no-hitter.

    • gothapotamus90210 - Jul 31, 2013 at 2:22 PM

      Watching TV was too taxing on his surgically repaired shoulder, couldn’t start today.

  3. 13arod - Jul 31, 2013 at 2:24 PM

    He wants to save his arm so he isnt going to pitch

  4. annapterp - Jul 31, 2013 at 2:58 PM

    This guy is such a cancer to any team. He’s really just a big a-hole. He probably just didn’t feel like pitching today. He’s one of the biggest losers in professional sports. He really doesn’t care if he wins or loses, but he has no problem cashing that paycheck!

  5. scoutsaysweitersisabust - Jul 31, 2013 at 3:45 PM

    Erik will always hold a special place in my heart. It is because of him that I get to watch Adam Jones and Chris Tillman in beautiful black and orange. Thanks Erik!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2768)
  2. C. Correa (2616)
  3. Y. Puig (2612)
  4. G. Springer (2571)
  5. H. Ramirez (2493)
  1. B. Crawford (2488)
  2. H. Pence (2394)
  3. M. Teixeira (2320)
  4. J. Hamilton (2283)
  5. J. Baez (2266)