Skip to content

Minor league team loses game during an intentional walk

Aug 14, 2013, 5:03 PM EDT

Pop quiz, hotshot!

You have allowed runners on second and third in a tie game in the bottom of the ninth and you want to intentionally walk the next batter to set up a force out at every base. What do you NOT do? WHAT DO YOU NOT DO?

This:

That was Alan Farina of the New Hampshire Fisher Cats tossing ball four of the intentional walk to the backstop, allowing the New Britain Rock Cats to win the game.

Hope Farina makes the majors someday, or else this is going to be his most famous baseball highlight ever. Heck, it may be regardless.

  1. Conner012367 - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:06 PM

    can u say fail?

    • km9000 - Aug 14, 2013 at 6:42 PM

      Everyone can, but I wish they’d stop.

      • Conner012367 - Aug 14, 2013 at 6:48 PM

        lol

    • moogro - Aug 14, 2013 at 7:07 PM

      You could say FAIL, pwned, etc. but you shouldn’t.

      • Conner012367 - Aug 14, 2013 at 7:15 PM

        i know but it really did suck

  2. buffal0sportsfan - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:10 PM

    How do you walk off in the seventh inning? Was it raining or something?

    • blacksables - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:15 PM

      When minor league teams play double headers, they play two 7 inning games. I don’t know if this was a DH, but it’s the only plausible explanation I know of.

      Hey, HBT, when are we going to get a baseball knowledge test implemented? Please?

      • kkingprior - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:29 PM

        A quick scan of the schedule shows that this was indeed the second game of a double header. http://www.milb.com/schedule/index.jsp?sid=t463

      • Joe - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:33 PM

        Also, the announcer clearly says “the Rock Cats win in improbable style in game two of the doubleheader.” But that was more than 30 seconds in, so easy to miss.

  3. proudlycanadian - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:16 PM

    Farina continues to drop down the depth chart. I believe that a couple of years ago he was briefly on the 40 man ML roster, but today he is just minor league depth.

  4. surefooted1 - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:37 PM

    Nah, his most famous highlight is that he was suspended 50 games for a drug violation.

    http://www.bluebirdbanter.com/2013/1/16/3884222/alan-farina-blue-jays-minor-league-pitcher-suspended-50-games-after

    • proudlycanadian - Aug 14, 2013 at 6:34 PM

      So Farina has smoked too much pot! That link was also very interesting because of the comments about Pillar and Gose. As it mentions, Pillar has just been called up to the Jays and Gose is expected to join the Jays very soon.

      • ryanrockzzz - Aug 15, 2013 at 7:13 AM

        Farina is the real version of Kenny Powers.

  5. jerze2387 - Aug 14, 2013 at 5:42 PM

    If it was Dennis Farina, this would have never happened..

  6. tfbuckfutter - Aug 14, 2013 at 6:03 PM

    Nice try.

    This video is clearly from the mid-90s and that is Bartolo Colon with a jheri curl.

  7. Matthew - Aug 14, 2013 at 7:11 PM

    Reblogged this on Carolina Mountain Blue and commented:
    Epic fail…enough said.

  8. bfar4526 - Aug 14, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    To his credit, it isnt that easy from going from 93-95 mph to just lobbing it in there.

  9. sabatimus - Aug 14, 2013 at 7:18 PM

    This, friends, is one reason why an intentional walk is actually thrown, not simply granted.

  10. Detroit Michael - Aug 14, 2013 at 9:44 PM

    Rodney McCray made the majors, but he’s still more famous for a clip from his minor league career:

  11. hillfc - Aug 14, 2013 at 10:54 PM

    Here is something I noticed. The batter after ball 4 does not go down to 1st base but joins in the celebration. Could the team in the field thrown the ball to 1st base and secured the 3rd out when it was evident the batter had no intention of taking his base? Even though the batter would be given the base due to the walk, he essientially gave himself up and made no attempt to take his free base. So under those circumstances, the 3rd out could have been recorded without the batter reaching first base. If that call were made, the run would not have counted.

    Doubtful a play like that has ever happened but just make that play even more intruiging and fun to watch.

    • Bryz - Aug 15, 2013 at 12:33 AM

      I doubt it because there’s no force play at 1st base after a walk.

      • danaking - Aug 15, 2013 at 9:51 AM

        What I am curious about is whether the batter is still credited with a walk, since he did not take his base. The run counts either way–it scored on the wild pitch, not the walk–but how would the scoring reflect the at bat? (That may be the most seamheaded question I have ever asked.)

      • dmuchnick - Aug 16, 2013 at 12:18 PM

        Actually it is a force play. The batter never legally reached first base.

    • dmuchnick - Aug 16, 2013 at 12:17 PM

      hillfc,

      You are EXACTLY correct ! I have been intrigued by this and have searched several sites and commented the same thing but until now, have not found anyone who raised this issue. Actually, it is a forceout which includes anytime a batter or runner does not legally touch the next base that he is forced to go to or is entitled to go to. AS YOU STATE, the run does not count.

      The umpire makes a mistake to just walk off the field when the game is not over (until the batter touches 1st. He should have called the batter out regardless of what the fielders do or don’t do !

    • dmuchnick - Aug 17, 2013 at 1:33 PM

      You are 99% correct. The only thing is that the defense should not have had to throw to first base. When the runner abandoned his right to the base the umprire should have called him out and it WOULD HAVE BEEN a force out which includes any out in which the batter does not reach 1st base. Of course, the defense could point that out by throwing the ball to first. THAT IS similar to a historic play in 1908 regular season that allowed the Cubs to win the pennant and their last World Series. The difference was that Giants player Fred Merkle was a runner on first and never touched second base because he thought the game was over when the runner from scored apparently scored the winning run. The Cubs Johnny Evers got the ball and tagged second; there was a controversy but the league ruled that the Giants did not win he game and the Giants-Cubs replayed it; The Cubs went on to win the game, pennant and WS.

  12. Minoring In Baseball - Aug 15, 2013 at 5:38 AM

    This is why I love the Minor Leagues, though, because cool sh!t like this happens once in awhile.

    http://minoringinbaseball.com/

  13. dmuchnick - Aug 16, 2013 at 12:21 PM

    See my comment under hillfc. The batter s/h/b called out and it is a force out and the run should not count !

  14. bfar4526 - Sep 4, 2013 at 4:39 PM

    Know your rulebook: Previous 2013 editions of this column have cited Rules 6.07 and 10.06 as a means to explain seemingly incomprehensible on-field events, and this month it has become necessary to direct your attention to Rule 6.02 (c):
    Crooked Numbers Include

    If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

When home-field advantage isn't so
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. T. Lincecum (3070)
  2. M. Bumgarner (2639)
  3. M. Morse (2423)
  4. J. Shields (2231)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2068)
  1. H. Pence (1492)
  2. T. Ishikawa (1434)
  3. L. Cain (1426)
  4. U. Jimenez (1419)
  5. B. Butler (1385)